We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$166
TravelocityUS$166
Orbitz.comUS$166
FindHotelUS$166
TripadvisorUS$166
EtripUS$166
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,577
37
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,577
37
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite fresh milk every afternoon home made cakes little touches roll top bath places to visit comfortable bed breakfast was amazing first class warm welcome little gem second to none nothing is too much trouble wonderful stay high standard perfect hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2022 via mobile

Lovely two night stay at the Somerville. Peter, Helen and Paul are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Fabulous room with our own courtyard. Breakfast was excellent , great choice. Helen's homemade cakes are delicious. Large carpark, perfect location close to town. Can't wait to return sometime. A very special place to stay, definitely the best in Torquay.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DandD567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete Bland, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Donna Thank-you for your fab review , I`d like to say I`m the chief taster of Helens cakes , look forward to seeing you again Peter & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2022

Just to echo the comments already made. Excellent accommodation, decor, service, breakfasts. Peter, Helen and Paul, a great team. Handy location, car parking on site. Superb local knowledge. All together a brilliant place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morefridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete Bland, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind review , we look forward to welcoming you back to The Somerville Regards Peter & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2022

From the moment we arrived we felt really welcome, the room was spotless and contained everything we needed for our short stay. A really nice touch was the cake which Helen baked fresh every day, as they called it the Cake under the stairs. The breakfast was absolutely superb with Peter and Paul showing a great rapport with each other and all of the guests, and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning this time for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F9839HXjeffp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete Bland, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Thank-you soo much for spending the time reviewing the Somerville , as for Paul and I at breakfast have been called Laurel & Hardy but we do enjoy some banter with our guests , look forward to seeing you again Peter & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2022 via mobile

Another lovely visit to the Somerville for 2 nights. Pleasant welcome, room beautiful as always, the garden suite is our go to room, plenty big enough with direct access to the private garden in the sun. Beautiful big bath, lounge, tvs everywhere. Breakfast is amazing and quick service from both Peter and Paul. Both great hosts. 5 minute walk into town centre. Gorgeous brown Labrador wondering about who sometimes sits outside the room. Nothing too much hassle. Will always try here first over other B&Bs in Torquay. Thanks for a lovely stay as always.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PAULLEANNEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete Bland, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Lovely to see you guys for a return visit , delighted to see we are your first choice when visiting family in Torquay , Best Regards Peter & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

This is one of the very best privately run hotels we have stayed in. Peter, Helen and Paul all go the extra mile for their guests, passing on local knowledge and serving a fantastic breakfast. The hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable and within a few minutes walking distance of the best pub/pub restaurant in Torquay, The Hole in the Wall.
One huge plus is the car parking!
I hope to return one day soon.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete Bland, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2022

Thank-you Charles for your review , we are every grateful for your comments and glad you mentioned our excellent FREE parking as some of the large hotels charge for parking ! Regards Peter & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews