We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$150
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Berburry(Torquay)
US$140
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wellsway(Torquay)
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
33
27
20
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
27
20
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquartswimming poollick of painttea and coffeewaiting staffcoachentertainment
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Typical coach trip venue. Good things first, owners and staff lovely. Dining room beautiful. Food plain but adequate. Room, small, dated, windows kept banging 'till we stuffed them with newspaper.T.V. placed so that could not see it. New bedding and pillows urgently needed. Bath too small even if you could get enough water!!Carpet in bathroom...egh. Shower did not operate properly. Desperately needs some T.L.C . Maybe up grade it to a single room with a proper shower.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank Rome33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Read some bad reviews so didn't know what to expect, however it was lovely, requested a room with a sea view which we had and also a lovely view of the pool, the food was delicious and all freshly cooked and served by a friendly waitress, I couldn't fault anything for 149 pounds for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, some people complain for the sake of it, ignore them, I would love to return any time. Thank you Ken and wife and staff for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to note such encouraging and kind words. I thank you and look forward to being of service again on your next visit in the future.
Once again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Hi this hotel is very clean and the food is good and very friendly staff well worth stopping here, bus stop is right outside the driveway it has a heated swimming pool the rooms are bright and I would not hesitate to come here again it is a little bit out of town but not to far and there is car parking !

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank jat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind and encouraging comments and we value them.
Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Hotel is lovely and clean that is the only bonus, on arrival ,there are steps to the entrance of reception, which was a struggle after a 7 and a half journey. Expecting a nice meal to ease the stress, and what do we get watery tomato,soup, a basic main meal, no tea or coffee if you wanted one you had to pay at the bar, This is the first trip ive been on when you have to pay for this after a meal.

The outside pool was not heated as advertised, and yes we had lovely weather so a dip would have been nice. Access to the pool area was poor, very steep steps down to this.

The poor waiter was rushed of his feet, and when my partner asked where is fried bread was on the plate, he came back stating there was none, although toast was being bought out all the time. If you wanted sauces, ie mayo or tartare sauce, the waiter spooned it on the plate for you. It is quite obvious that the owner is penny pinching on food, and staff. Not a nice experience good job the weather was good

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the Abbey Court Hotel. I would assure you that and we work as a team and we are very proud of our loyal staff . Our Chef has been with us now for over sixteen years. I particularly regret your comments regarding the purchase of tea & coffee after the meal from the bar. You have to remember that you came in group on a special offer discounted deal and in these circumstances it is not always possible for a business to absorb the costs of every single service/item; I am sorry that I have to make a mention of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We went on a coach trip and to be honest the old saying you get what you pay for is apt and considering it was August when most hotels are more expensive o.k..
Having said that the room was kept clean and it was spacious. The proprietor was usually around and attentive. The staff were very hard working and the food was o.k.

If you are disabled you would not be able to get down to the pool as it is down about 15 steps. The pool is can only be used for a few hours a day which according to the hotel is due to local bye laws. I was a bit surprised at that. Also you have to be able to swim to use it which I thought was fair enough.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanne_huckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your observations. But for the record, I should mention that for health & safety reasons Torbay Council has put some conditions on the use of the pool because, as you will know, it is 2m deep and has steeper gradient going from 1m depth from the roman steps side to the deeper end. Further I recall you were also made aware that on your free days you could use the pool for much longer hours than just over two hours as on your usual excursion days out on the coach. Thank you for coming to the Abbey Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews