We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

After being on the bus for 7 hours we just wanted to get in our rooms and freshen up. But was told we would get to Torquay at 12 but couldn't go to the hotel till 4pm we were disappointed . then was told we had a choice to make for dinner which was. Either minced beef pie or liver pie or salad every one on the bus was disgusted with the do call choice . so the bus driver got back and then were offered fish which we choose . which was not the best. Breakfast in the morning was a farce waited ages we had to share the table with someone else and they had got there before us so had tea and toast and eat it not thinking it was to SHARE as we were told when we asked. The room so small no room too move and the bed creaked very loud as soon as you moved. Over all no don't bother going there. The hotel inspector needs to go there but saying that anyone with any sence can sort it out. So too the management sort it out .

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank gaynor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Guest,

My apologies for the delay in responding. I regret to note that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am unable to comment on your travel to us but would mention that some rooms in the hotel are not as spacious as the ones that are south or north facing. We make every effort to allocate rooms in line with the request received from the guests unless the rooms have already been taken. Also. I would stress that our staff serving, in the restaurant, do pay attention to the individual requirements of the guests. I am sorry for your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2015

Typical coach trip venue. Good things first, owners and staff lovely. Dining room beautiful. Food plain but adequate. Room, small, dated, windows kept banging 'till we stuffed them with newspaper.T.V. placed so that could not see it. New bedding and pillows urgently needed. Bath too small even if you could get enough water!!Carpet in bathroom...egh. Shower did not operate properly. Desperately needs some T.L.C . Maybe up grade it to a single room with a proper shower.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank Rome33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Read some bad reviews so didn't know what to expect, however it was lovely, requested a room with a sea view which we had and also a lovely view of the pool, the food was delicious and all freshly cooked and served by a friendly waitress, I couldn't fault anything for 149 pounds for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, some people complain for the sake of it, ignore them, I would love to return any time. Thank you Ken and wife and staff for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to note such encouraging and kind words. I thank you and look forward to being of service again on your next visit in the future.
Once again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Hi this hotel is very clean and the food is good and very friendly staff well worth stopping here, bus stop is right outside the driveway it has a heated swimming pool the rooms are bright and I would not hesitate to come here again it is a little bit out of town but not to far and there is car parking !

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank jat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind and encouraging comments and we value them.
Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Hotel is lovely and clean that is the only bonus, on arrival ,there are steps to the entrance of reception, which was a struggle after a 7 and a half journey. Expecting a nice meal to ease the stress, and what do we get watery tomato,soup, a basic main meal, no tea or coffee if you wanted one you had to pay at the bar, This is the first trip ive been on when you have to pay for this after a meal.

The outside pool was not heated as advertised, and yes we had lovely weather so a dip would have been nice. Access to the pool area was poor, very steep steps down to this.

The poor waiter was rushed of his feet, and when my partner asked where is fried bread was on the plate, he came back stating there was none, although toast was being bought out all the time. If you wanted sauces, ie mayo or tartare sauce, the waiter spooned it on the plate for you. It is quite obvious that the owner is penny pinching on food, and staff. Not a nice experience good job the weather was good

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the Abbey Court Hotel. I would assure you that and we work as a team and we are very proud of our loyal staff . Our Chef has been with us now for over sixteen years. I particularly regret your comments regarding the purchase of tea & coffee after the meal from the bar. You have to remember that you came in group on a special offer discounted deal and in these circumstances it is not always possible for a business to absorb the costs of every single service/item; I am sorry that I have to make a mention of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.9 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.5 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
186 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#83 of 85 in Torquay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#59 of 85 in Torquay
890 reviews
1.6 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 85 in Torquay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: RM299 - RM432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, English Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing