We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcomoing”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from a one night stay and could not fault the service. The owners were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was only a standard but really well presented, good quality bed linen and spotlessley clean.
Huge choice of cereals, fresh fruit and full english if you wanted it, which of course we did.
As with all the other hotels , it is up a hill but a really pleasant walk to take or two minutes in the car

Room Tip: worth the extra cost to upgrade to a superior room just to get the massive bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Despite being on his own on what turned out to be a busy weekend Jeff made us extremely welcome and no request was too much trouble. We arrived early on a stunning October afternoon but he had anticipated us and our room was ready. This was a real bonus as it meant we could spend a couple of hours on the beach having already settled ourselves into our room. Our family room was actually a double room with separate twin bedded room which meant that our daughter could go to sleep at her normal time and we could watch still watch television. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and Jeff even provided hot milk for our daughter's bedtime drink.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

An excellent homely hotel, very friendly welcome. Rooms are cosy, comfortable, spotless and
tastefully decorated. Breakfast superb with everything you would want, optional evening meal
also excellent.Good location within short distance of seafront. Jeff and Sandra are warm and
friendly hosts, will definately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed just one night on 28th October and wished it had been longer. Jeff warmly greeted us and showed us to our room which although a little small was well furnished clean and very comfortable, a standard reflected throughout the hotel. The breakfast was better than many I have had in five star hotels with a wide choice to compliment the fantastic full cooked English. It goes without saying that when I next stay in Torquay I will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 160AlanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

An excellent hotel to stay in, all modern decor but with a homely feel to it, rooms very comfortable and spotless. We were made to feel very welcome by Sandra and Jeff and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, all freshly cooked and piping hot. Would highly recommend to anyone wishing for a great place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
1.8 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.5 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
569 reviews
1.8 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
656 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: RM284 - RM468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, English Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing