We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
320
187
73
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
187
73
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christiechampagne barsister hotelroyal castlelovely hotelbar foodcoaching innfour posterdaniel defoedouble parkingmain barfunction roomwatch the worlda small car parkjacuzzi bathsalmonfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights here. We were booked into a premium room, which was rather on the small side but due to a cancellation were offered an upgrade to a decidedly larger and more luxurious room.

The hotel staff are friendly, polite and efficient. The rooms clean and generally well presented.

I can't give the hotel more than four stars though as it fell down on a few minor things. Breakfast service was very average on the first day and a dirty cup on the table, a lack of hangers in the wardrobe.

None of this should put a potential vision off, it's a very decent hotel in a good central location.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnW2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, General Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John,
Thank you for your review – I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here, that we looked after you with an upgrade and our staff were so friendly and efficient. I am sorry to hear that we need to pay a little more attention to detail, especially at breakfast and I will be feeding your comments back to the team in an effort to make sure we don’t let ourselves with these issues again.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again one day and will endeavour to ensure that we get every little thing right for a 5* review.

Best wishes,
Lucy Jonas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We often eat at The Royal Castle Hotel in Dartmouth which is very good, so as we were in Totnes, thought to have lunch at the Seven Stars which is the Royal Castle's sister hotel. What a mistake. We ordered cream of leek and potato soup with crusty bread and coffee. The coffee arrived first, slopped in the saucer with soggy sugar portions, and it was luke warm. The soup arrived, it was watery and tasteless, with stale bread. Crusty bread should be crusty on the outside and soft in the middle, not stale all through. We shared a butter portion which was rock hard, so not able to spread. The staff were all over the place, they didn't seem to have a clue on presentation or service. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lily299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, General Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lilly,

As a South Hams local and Royal Castle regular I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that it comes with a view to helping us get it right next time. Your visit does sound disappointing and I’d really appreciate a few more details so that I can look into the matter and ensure we learn from our mistakes. I know that we are better than that here at the Royal Seven Stars! You would be welcome to return as my guest in the future if you were willing to gives us another chance at showing you what we’re really capable of so please do get in touch on lucyjonas@royalsevenstars.co.uk or pop in if you’re in the area and introduce yourself.

Thanks again and best wishes,
Lucy Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old hotel right in the centre of Totnes, limited parking at the rear but this is explained on their web site and they do allow double parking as long as you leave your keys with reception. We were upgraded (without asking) to a really delightful four poster bedroom with a large modern bathroom (with a jacuzzi bath), there was also fresh fruit and bottled water (plus ice cubes) in the room. Lovely touch.
We ate lunch in the pub which was excellent, there were also other dining choices if required. Breakfast is served in the restaurant with lots of choices in hot and cold food and was really good, very nice coffee served in individual cafetieres.
Will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJPlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Central Totnes, good, well appointed and clean rooms, great food. Also, the manageress and her staff were great and sorted out an issue I had hearing loud music in the bedroom amazingly quickly!!!!! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, General Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. You were lovely guests to have come and stay, it was lovely meet you and we very much hope to see you again soon! Although that music does remain a mystery to me….

Best wishes, Lucy Jonas, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because the steam train to Dartmouth had broken down, our party of ten spent last Saturday in Totnes, and discovered the Seven Stars at lunchtime. What a find... although the place was heaving, a charming lady laid up a lovely side room for us, we were made so welcome, and the food was delicious. We have definite intentions of returning for a longer stay to this characterful pub/hotel (but hopefully minus the snow this time....)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, General Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jo,

Thank you for the lovely review; it was lovely to meet you all and I’m so pleased that I could find you a room for you to have lunch. I very much hope to welcome you all back in June for a stay and hope you will be in touch soon!
Best wishes to all, and thanks again for finding the time to send some kind feedback – it’s much appreciated!

Lucy Jonas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews