We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly deli with brilliant food to eat-in”

The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a small team who are passionate in bringing you delicious, locally sourced, freshly prepared food and drink. We specialise in a large range of Gluten Free and Vegan options, whilst still catering for the carnivores out there. Much of our food is home-made on site and our knowledgeable team are more than happy to advise and guide your selections. Recently under new ownership we hope to continue and build upon this reputation, including upgrading the decor and coffee offer
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We visited the Wild Fig for a late lunch. We were the only customers in there when we arrived (probably due to the odd time) but the owner Simon, and his young waiting staff made us feel really welcome, chatting to us about our holiday plans.

We shared a Moroccan sweet potato filo parcel and a leek, goat's cheese and walnut quiche. Not all of the food is veggie here but there is a super range of meat-free meals. Both meals came with a small side salad and a choice of one other salad - I went for butter beans in a chili sauce and A. had some Greek salad.

We would have loved to have sampled the Wild Fig's evening tapas but unfortunately it didn't work out - maybe next time!

2  Thank Harriet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Owner at The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear Harriet

Many thanks for the amazing review.

There is no such thing as a late lunch at The Wild Fig, if we are open, we will offer people lunch if they want it.

We try and offer a nice variety of Mediterranean style food and maybe a few things that people haven;t had before, so we are pleased you enjoyed it and hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Totnes

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

visited here recently, very disappointed - not what I expected from the no1 restaurant in totnes - firstly, they got our order wrong, of which when we received the correct meals they were bland, secondly - it is very small ( you'd struggle to swing a cat ! ), with only 4 tables it felt very crowded and lacked intimacy. as well as this, the owner was very over bearing and was very in your face ! not an experience I want to repeat.

8  Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Owner at The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear Becca

We are sorry you felt the need to write a negative review of the Wild Fig.

Yes we are small but this is seen as part of the charm to others but you are right, we are not necessarily the place for an intimate meal.

Sorry if the order was incorrect but we are surprised to hear that the food was described as "bland" as we are so often praised for our great flavours.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Friendly and prompt service, really excellent food. Great location on the main street in Totnes. Strongly recommended.

1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Owner at The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Simon

Many thanks for the great review

You seem to have commented on all the things we try to get right, so it is great to see them appreciated.

Hopefully we will see you again some time

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This was a quick visit but very enjoyable. The gluten free cake was yummy and it was nice to be able to sit outside and watch people going by.

1  Thank Theophania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Owner at The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear THeophania

Thank you for your lovely review

We're glad you enjoyed the gluten free cake but just a shame you don;t live more locally to enjoy the other ones we make every day

Also pleased you enjoyed the outside seating as it has proved a hit with so many people this summer

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

The service was slow and when we got there they were a bit rude and the drinks were flat when we got them i would not come here again

11  Thank Chlonoons1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Owner at The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Chlonoons

We're sorry that your one and only review is a negative one about the Wild Fig

We apologise if the service was slow, we can get busy especially in August.

I would be surprised if any of the staff were at all rude, as that is one of the things we pride ourselves in is good friendly service - however we are sorry if it came across that way

Not quite sure what is meant by the drinks were flat, as bottles and cans are opened at the table and coffees would be freshly made and delivered

A shame that we didn't seem to go down well

SImon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe also viewed

 
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
 

Been to The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing