We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cider House - the perfect romantic hideaway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cider House - the perfect romantic hideaway
Dining area
Relax in the roll-top
Cosy bedrooms aid good sleep
Light and air'y by the seaside
Sunny orchard for a glass of wine after a day at the beach
Doggies welcome - this is our Oscar enjoying a run in the Orchard
Enjoy the private patio for Breakfasts and BBQs
View from one of the bedrooms
Wonderful beaches nearby - Beesands
Walk over the cliffs to Beesands, outstanding views
Walk, Beach, Picnic, Pub lunch - you choose
Lovely seafood to be had in the South Hams
Rain or shine - equipped for a walk
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Totnes, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
flip212
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Cider House really is in "deepest Devon". That's the reason it's so quiet & relaxing. However, it's also not far from some lovely coastline, beaches & interesting towns: Dartmouth, Totnes, Kingsbridge. Another great feature is the orchard, a lovely picnic spot if you don't want to drive anywhere, that benefits from sun all day & into the evening.
In short, highly recommended for a get away from it all break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Many thanks Phillip
We've just enjoyed the orchard ourselves for an early evening glass of wine to kick off our 'owners' week at Cider.
Thanks for the lovely review, hope to see you again at Cider House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliepmhe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage in deep Devon Countryside.”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated in a beautiful, quiet and leafy location, Cider House welcomed us. From the lovely bottle of wine, crisps and shortbread to the comfy beds and homely touches. It was just what we needed.
The beautiful orchard in which we hoped to spend a sunny afternoon was denied to us by days of rain but would be heaven if we could have sat out in it!
Thank you Mike and Belinda!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you Julie,

What a shame the weather wasn't kind to you, we would love to welcome you back for another try at the British summer and you may strike lucky with sunshine.

Mike & Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma C
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A beautifully kept property which really felt like a home from home. It's in a relatively secluded and quiet location (just what you want if you're going away to relax!) but still very close to lots of amenities and nearby towns if you fancied a trip out.

Better yet, its dog friendly so perfect for people like me who love nothing more than a nice walk and some fresh air before settling down in front of the fire with a glass of wine.

Will be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to welcoming you back to Cider House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneMand...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful and cosy cottage in very peaceful location”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were delighted to see that the cottage was as cosy and comfortable as advertised. Lovely decor, very clean and lots of homely touches. We felt very welcome when we found gin and tonic drinks in the fridge with a lime!
Lots of useful information helped us to settle in very quickly into the cottage. Also recommendations of interesting places to visit and pubs and restaurants were very useful. We loved using the wood burner, which made the cottage even more cosy!
The location of the cottage is wonderfully peaceful and loved the orchard nearby. The neighbours were also very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy atmosphere,decor and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you for your comments, glad you had a lovely time, hopefully we can welcome you again to Cider House sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing