We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint & Fully Equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn exterior
Table and BBQ Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Barn exterior
Table and BBQ
Kitchen
Kingsize master bed
Master bedroom, TV and DVD
Dinning area
Trenchermans Deli and Wine, a short walk from the barn
Compton House, previously a butterfly farm
Second bedroom
Second Bedroom
Powerful show over the bath
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zeniba
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint & Fully Equipped”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Meadow View Barn while visiting family over Christmas and it was sensational we couldn't have been happier the presentation on entering the barn was immaculate, so clean and modern and very cosy we were a little concerned that being a barn conversion we may hear the neighbours but that wasn't the case at all it was very private and quiet. When we arrived the a tree had been put up for the Christmas period which was a lovely touch and there was also a welcome hamper, a lovely bottle of bubbly some scrummy biscuits and crisps which was also a very nice touch & made us feel right at home. The barn itself is so well equipped with everything you could need, seriously they have thought of everything & additional linen is available if required. The area the barn is located in is within walking distance to a village & a short drive to towns. We would certainly stay again as it was just great!!
Thanks Ian & Alison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was terrific
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob7H7
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great base to explore the area”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a brilliant stay in the barn. It was stocked with everything we needed for our stay and was very clean and tidy.

The setting is very peaceful but still close enough to the neaby towns for covenience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEKLincol...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything you could wish for. Alison and Ian have furnished and equipped the barn to an extremely high standard. From the furnishings and appliances right through to pots and pans everything is top quality and in perfect condition.
On arrival the barn was spotless and the generous welcome pack was a great bonus. Wonder if there is a pizza cutter? Yes it's in the drawer. Would be nice if we had an explorer map of the area, oh look, here it is. Almost got to the stage where I tried to catch them out looking for obscure cooking implements but they are all there!
The outside seating area is such a lovely area. A very quiet area with only the odd friendly local walking their dog down the lane. The peacocks are regular visitors and their calls are about the only noise you will hear.
Such a quiet little hamlet but only about half a mile from the main road so easy access to the many great places to visit in the area. We have made easy day trips as far as Devon and the New Forest and Bournemouth.
Any questions or advice that you could need is always available from the owners who have been superb right from my first enquiry.
Top marks all round from me. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe G
1 review
“A wonderful relaxing stay in a comfortable and beautifully appointed cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We couldn't fault the barn in any way. Very clean with a few added touched by the owners, Ian and Alison, that made our stay even better. Home from home! Peaceful and the perfect location for exploring Dorset and Somerset - thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing