We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in great location for town...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of COTTAGE IN SWANAGE

AL FRESCO DINING! GARDEN GETS SUN ALL DAY
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
AL FRESCO DINING! GARDEN GETS SUN ALL DAY
House is 5 mins walk from town/beach and steam train ! COSY LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
AL FRESCO DINING! GARDEN GETS SUN ALL DAY
House is 5 mins walk from town/beach and steam train !
COSY LOUNGE
KITCHEN WITH WASHING MACHINE/DRYER, DISHWASHER,COFFEE MACHINE
SEPARATE DINING ROOM
DOUBLE BEDROOM
TWIN BEDROOM
BUNK ROOM
BATHROOM
KIDS LOVE THEIR LOUNGE IN ROOF WITH SEA VEIW
HOUSE AREA MILL POND
SUNNY COURTYARD GARDEN
NATIONAL TRUST STUDLAND BAY -NICE CAFE
SWANAGE RAILWAY TRIPS TO CORFE CASTLE 5 MINS WALK FROM HOUSE
FISHING OFF THE PIER, KAYAKING FOR THE DAY
STUDLAND BEACH SAND DUNES AND WALKS
WALK TO DURLSTON  CASTLE FROM HOUSE ALONG THE COASTPATH PAST THE LIGHTHOUSE
OLD HARRY ROCKS FROM SWANAGE
SWANAGE PIER
SWANAGE BLUE FLAG BEACH
SWANAGE BAY
NATURE RESERVE 300M FROM HOUSE
SWANAGE BEACH BY BULL & BOAT RESTUARANT
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
spindlepi...
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in great location for town, seaside and cliff top walks”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This has to be one of the most tastefully decorated and furnished self catering houses we have had the pleasure to stay in. Location was fab - 10 minutes walk to the town and beach and in less than 30 minutes you are on the coastal path with awesome views. Free parking on the roads by the cottage but once you have parked, there was no need for us to use the car again until we left. We managed to park directly outside the cottage.
Ours was a long weekend break for 4 adults Friday to Monday. The cottage is exactly as per the photos. Highlights for us were the Black Swan pub only next door ( no noise from pub) that did good wholesome meals at reasonable prices but you need to book. We also managed a few walks including Old Harry's Rock, Anvil Point Lighthouse, Durlston Country Park (great cafe at Durlston Castle) and Winspit - all doable walks from the cottage for those with reasonable fitness.
Swanage has a nice array of small shops and cafes and my only disappointment/regret is that my wife wouldn't let me go on the Swanage Steam Railway because it was the first weekend of the Santa Special train and she thought I was too old! Next time...
Alison was a great host, professional and ensured our stay in her lovely house was perfect. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor, cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunH04
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seaside splendour”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely week at 4 Townsend rd. The property is well located and thoughtfully decorated. It's very well equipped and had pretty much everything we needed for our toddler plus a shed full of beach equipment. Definitely recommend it for couples or families as a great retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireand...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful clean cottage, excellent communication, would book again!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Loved this cottage. A lot of thought has gone into decorating and furnishing this property. Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interior decorating
Liked least: no parkng
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatMarden
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, lovely seaside town”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent a lovely week in the cottage with our 2 young children. Alison was extremely helpful and the cottage was well equipped and tastefully decorated. Swanage was great and lots of interesting places to visit nearby. Would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swivel201...
Ashtead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, comfortable cottage with easy access to everything in Swanage”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well equipped and ideal for all the family including our four grandchildren; brilliant 'chill out' room for the kids; added extras (beach gear) in the shed. Lovely sunny patio garden for that relaxing drink after a hectic day out.
We were very, very lucky with the British weather!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ambiance
Liked least: finding a parking space
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$168
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing