We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acton Field Camping Site
Nearby Hotels
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
US$288
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$197
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)(Great Value!)
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$221
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
17
24
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
24
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightsquare and compassnice seaper nighton arrival11pmpitchtoiletscampersnoisegentswalkslangtonscaravandog
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night stay here and have to say it's one of the best campsites we've been to so far...was a little worried after reading some reviews...but needn't have worried... yes the ground is uneven but the pitches are a good size and the views and location are ideal..will definitely be returning..!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val M, Owner at Acton Field Camping Site, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Very relaxed campsite in beautiful location. Nice sea views from the higher ground towards the back. Was very quiet at night when we were there, although some noises from the nearby quarry woke me early one morning. Nice relaxed attitude from the owners and weren't rushed to leave on the last day which made all the difference. We didn't try out the little on-site cafe area, but it looked nice and gave it a slightly music festival feel which we liked. Could do with another sink or two for washing up and definitely somewhere to put clothes and towels in the shower; but these were small points. Would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank janecamping12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Thank you for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Lovely location, great for walks and public transport links. Very uneven ground, and hard to find a level spot, but this adds to the charm of the site. Its also very cheap, we paid £15 a night per pitch - not per person. This is great for young families like us as we dont spend loads on paying for each individual child HOWEVER, after this weekend I suspect this is what attracts the large groups of teenagers that we saw scattered about the site. Unfortunately, by no fault of the owner, we had to listen to loud conversation, swearing and even car radio music until way past the curfew of 11pm - roughly 3am each night! I do feel that a bit more 'vetting' of groups could be done to ensure the usual camping clientele are kept happy. It was a different group each night and one lot of them was smoking drugs and being so rowdy we heard other campers near to them getting fed up and shouting at them! I would love to return to this campsite as it truly is lovely - however i would feel it a bit of a gamble knowing that currently any sized group can just turn up and pitch right next to us. We are not apposed to groups, and i do not wish to be stereotypical but i do feel having to book in advance and provide ages and number of people stayingetc may help to prevent large noisy crowds of 18yr olds that just want to party.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrs_simmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry noise spoiled your stay. The site welcomes all and we do not discriminate. There is a notice outside the toilet block and on the notice board, in the ladies loos inviting anyone to come to the mobile home at anytime if there are noisy/disruptive campers. The owners walk round the site after 11pm to ensure that all is in order, no one complained at any time over the weekend regarding noise etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went on our first outing with our camper van (weekend of 8/9 July 2017. Great weather resulted in trouble find a space anywhere, found Acton Field by sheer chance. Pulled and received a warm welcome, advised to find a spot and the lady would come and find us for payment.
Busy site, but first impressions were good, clean and tidy. Toilets and showers were clean, showers 20pence for 3 minutes.
A few simple rules ensured a pleasant stay, main one being noise limited to before 11.00 pm.
Positives,
competitive at £15.00/night for a pitch regardless of people.
Clean and tidy.
Friendly staff.
Great location for walks.
Dog friendly.
Negatives,
tricky to find a flat pitch as on a slope.
Four toilets in gents and ladies, did not see it but I'm guessing may cause an issue when super busy.
Very, very minor issues.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rwelfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. We are unable to obtain planning permission to extend/renew the toilet block so we try and make the best of what we have. Only a problem when very busy (mainly at weekends) Folk very understanding generally and chat whilst waiting!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to Acton Fields ..What a great place unfortunately the weather was really bad when we arrived ....but cleared up ....there is only 4 electric hookups but we managed to get one.....campsite has everything that we needed only gripe we had to pay for the showers ....
Will definitely be back as it's a good place to be

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hankypankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews