We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A rural haven”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coinedwar...
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rural haven”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A very well appointed converted barn in an idyllic location. The lounge is large with plenty of space for eating and lounging. Other facities are well planned with a high quality of provision. Location is good being within walking distance of the pictureque village of Kersey and a short drive to Lavenham and Hadleigh.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review.
It is very satisfying to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We aim to treat guests as we would close friends and the cottage is fitted out to a standard that we would expect if we were staying there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard n
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful welcome and overall experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the hosts absolutely charming and welcoming. The property is in all respects one of the highest standards.

The location is in the middle of enchanting scenery and on the doorstep of some of the most characterful villages/ towns like Lavenham and Dedham as just two examples.

It was overall a most rewarding stay and one we will definitely repeat, soon I hope.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review.
We like to treat our guests as we we would close friends and the cottage is fitted out to a level that we would require if staying there.
We do get a lot of repeat bookings and look forward to meeting past guests once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Tuataras
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
“Delightful cosy characterful cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

After initial difficulty in booking this cottage from New Zealand Peter couldn't have been more helpful. We found the cottage ideal for position, with off street parking and ease of access. the owners were very friendly and helpful and we were warmly welcomed. While the chickens did remind us we were in the heart of the Suffolk countryside they also provided us with delicious fresh eggs! The wifi was rather erratic - a little disappointing as we hoped to hear our grandchildren in New Zealand singing in a national competition via live streaming. All in all Wheelwrights cottage was a delightful week in our UK holiday..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and character of the cottage
Liked least: Erratic wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review especially from the other side of the world.
The initial problem in booking was due to the Holiday Lettings system at that time. It has been changed and now works.
The problem with our WiFi is the ridiculously low broadband speed and its reliability. Suffolk County Council are promising to improve it soon.
We hope you will recommend Wheelwrights to others who travel from New Zealand to the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful placeto stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have stayed at Wheelwrights Cottage a few times and would recommend it as a very comfortable place to stay. It has all the modern amenities you could wish for and the bonus of parking off road. The owners are most welcoming and very friendly.
We are regular self catering holiday makers and would rate this one as one of the best we have stayed in. We will return yet again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and modern amenities
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob442a
Saughall Massie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Much has been said about cobwebs and cockerels - this is barn conversion in the countryside; what do you expect?
Owners Doreen & Peter very friendly and even offered to pick us up from the pub(!)
The cottage is cosy and very well situated for lots of NT properties, Bury St. Edmunds, Cambridge, Lavenham and so much more.
We recommend The Bell Inn in Kersey - good beer, great food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We think of our guests as friends and treat them as such. We get many return visits.

We thoroughly clean the cottage immediately before the arrival of guests.
However, the few spiders we may have missed do not go to sleep!!!

We also have timers on the chicken houses to try and ensure the cockerels do not get up too early.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing