We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We Didn't Want to Leave”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage faces the stunning St Clements church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage faces the stunning St Clements church
No cars and very few people on the twitten - so our children play outside Picture of main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Cottage faces the stunning St Clements church
No cars and very few people on the twitten - so our children play outside
Picture of main bedroom
Picture of bedroom
Bedroom number 2
3rd Bedroom with Double bed and bunk bed
Antique chesterfield in the lounge
New Bathroom and shower suite
Kitchen
50 Metres from Restaurants of George street and High Street
300 yards from the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nic966
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We Didn't Want to Leave”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed three weeks at Church Passage and were still sorry to depart. This is a surprisingly quiet and spacious cottage given its central Old Town location, and we found the beds to be very comfortable. The cottage is very well equipped - in particular I appreciated the large cooking pots and two services of cutlery and crockery - enough that the big dishwasher could be full and still have enough on the shelves to serve a group. The open fire was a big attraction for us and draws perfectly. Fresh bread from Judges Bakery, music at the Jenny Lind and Stag, and a quick walk to the restaurants on George Street. And the Crown is nearby too. And the FILO. Too much to list. St. Clement's Church is impressive - there is a very beautiful stained glass window that is visible from the cottage. We would love to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astirl
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an ideal cottage”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is our third stay at this lovely cottage: we experienced a couple of teething problems with heat and hot water which were dealt with very efficiently by the helpful owners. They kindly offered us a free short stay because of this.

The cottage is lovely: ideally located, cosy, tasteful and quiet, with everything you need for a wonderful holiday.

Thank you : we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Thank you for the great review - please come and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPB_11
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I challenge you to find anything wrong!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful old cottage, often used as background in "Foyle's War", situated in twittern amongst beautiful streets of Hastings Old Town. Lovely front "parlour" (I LIKE that word), separate dining area, kitchen and utility room on ground floor; there is also a toilet at this level.
"Getting up the stairs is a bit of a wangle, but you just hold on to the thick rope handle"!
Three nice bedrooms, two of which overlook the beautiful church itself.
Also a large bathroom.
Superbly equipped, it suffers the usual holiday rental bafflement of how to get the TV to work, though persevere and even that will come good.
There is a pub about 10 yards away! Need I say more! AND, it's a good pub!
Easy to book and quick to return the damage deposit, which is not always the case.
You are bang in the middle of the old town, so shops, food and restaurants aplenty.
A definite winner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting, really.
Liked least: The television!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - we really appreciate it. If you ever fancy returning to Hastings, we hope you consider using us again. Remind me of your kind review before you book though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was our first trip to hastings and we weren't disappointed. Owners were easily contactable and gave excellent recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. The cottage itself was beautiful, clean and had great amenities, ideal location in the old part of hastings, especially with the short walk to the beach. Definitely recommend this as a retreat away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy A
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cosy home from home cottage”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just had the pleasure of staying within this cosy cottage, if you are looking to stay in Hastings then look no further this is a very comfortable, well equipped cottage. Ideally situated for the old town of Hastings, shop, restaurants, beech all within walking distance. Whilst parking is a pain, once you have unloaded you don't need your car again, it can be parked up for the week. I loved the fact I was able to do and see so much, within walking distance of the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its cosy atmosphere
Liked least: No garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing