We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast by the water”
Review of The Katarina

The Katarina
Ranked #922 of 1,233 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Katarina Harvester in Brighton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Brighton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Brighton, Woodingdean and Willingdon, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We decided to have breakfast out for Easter day, we were quickly shown to a table and order taken, great selection of food and drink. The breakfast did not take long to arrive and was good, good value and good way to start the day

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Anthony P, we truly appreciate your honest feedback, and glad you enjoyed your visit on Easter Sunday, we will be passing on your comments to our team and hope to see you again very soon, Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Just been in and then almost immediately out. Reception staff downright rude. Shown to table and was not asked if ok. Menu thrown onto table and then left. Waiting staff not much better as struggled to understand as she took our order. Many items not available. World famous salad bar - really! 3 containers of limp lettuce 3 of onions 1 of hughly chopped tomatoes and that out of 10 choices and hardly any sauces in the jars better salad available over the road at asda. When returned to my table was told what I had ordered was also unavailable so I left. Wednesday evening and was not even busy .

1  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Julie S, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would have addressed the situation you have described. You comments have been communicated to the team who working during shift and the duty manager. We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. And can assure you that all staff have had retraining on their guest service, as well as the kitchen team with the salad bar selection to ensure it is always freshed topped up and has a variety. I hope to see you again soon and that you will see an improvement. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Appalling place. The staff were none existent and when they were present they were rude af. We ordered which took forever as the waitress was lost in translation. We were then midway through accessing the salad bar, which was worse than a packaged salad for options.

We left and went across the road to Coast to Coast, who were much more attentive.

1  Thank Chazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Katarina, but will take this opportunity to improve. We have communicated your feedback to the team working on shift during your visit and the duty manager, all staff have since had retraining on their guest service as well as our kitchen team with particular attention to our salad bar. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

What we thought would be a nice family meal out turned out to be a nightmare. The food we ordered the steak was fatty, chewy and so bad we had to send back which ruined one of our meals, the others mine the chicken was over done and tasted funny. The salad bar had it's usual choices missing cucumber etc and whilst the waiting staff were polite and understanding the management sat behind us were loud and uninterested in our complaint. When you're spending £50 on food you at least expect to enjoy it and not have to argue the toss over the reasons why we didn't enjoy it. After complaining and having sent one meal back we left stressed and disappointed, we won't be returning. I was also disgusted that after taking my child to the toilet only 2 out of the 4 cubicles had locks on the door meaning someone walked in at one point - very embarrassing! The overall amount we paid for this evening's meal was overpriced and quite frankly I'd of rather of spent that money elsewhere. Won't be returning and will be passing on my thoughts to Head Office as I felt this wasn't acceptable. I shall also be telling friends not to bother eating there as they'd only be wasting their money.
Not happy.

1  Thank lottierose27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Katarina, we understand that your feedback has been directly with us and we were able to work towards a resolution for you, thank you for taking the time to contact us again. We hope to see you again soon and you see an improvement.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

You think i would have learned my lesson?
Returning to this excuse of a Harvester and ordering steak.
Their steak you can't really cut it with a knife let alone chew it, this has been the case for the last 3 times? Ridiculous ........... Only to be told that they are having a few issues with suppliers and they would report it? The place was virtually empty, no surprise and when I got home and looked at their reviews I could have saved myself almost £50.
My wife also recommends you take a door wedge with you to the ladies loos because 2 of the 4 toilet cubicles don't have locks!! And you can't sit their with your foot on the door. Save your money go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Brightonseagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Brightonseagulls, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, we understand you have logged your feedback directly with us and we were able to work towards a resolution for you, thank you for taking the time to contact us again and hope to see you again soon and you will see an improvement.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Katarina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing