We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Hotels.com
US$112
View deal
Trip.comUS$201
Official HotelUS$120
TravelocityUS$112
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,298)
Filter reviews
11,300 results
Traveller rating
5,754
2,955
1,524
705
362
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,754
2,955
1,524
705
362
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view valet parking lovely hotel birthday treat one night stay enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent sea front lovely room a lovely stay concierge doorman gb1 scaffolding grandeur staircase refurbishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 11,300 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

We visit every year and thoroughly look forward to it. In the manner of a classic old glamorous hotel there is a warm welcome from the porters and reception, the food and drinks are excellent (particularly at breakfast, and the cocktails, not at the same time!), rooms are spacious and very highly specified, and the interior staircase and hallway is beautiful. An excellent location too with amazing views. Definitely the destination hotel in Brighton.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 588pamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Halpin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear 588pamh,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review of your stay! We're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and got to enjoy so many of the amenities that we have.

It's also great to read that our staff were such a pleasure and made your stay very welcoming - this is something that we are always striving for!

Thank you for your kind words, and we do hope to be welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

First time staying at The Grand. Beautiful hotel with lots of history and a perfect location. Cocktails in the bar were amazing! Staff very friendly and bedrooms well equipped. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. Massive downside is the lack of parking. I appreciate it’s summer season and these old hotels weren’t built with cars in mind, but it took us 80 minutes to queue and get in the NCP car park behind-longer than the actual drive to Brighton, also £32 for less than 24 hours when you’ve paid a lot for a room is a bit much. For a hotel of this calibre they really need to offer a bit more parking for their guests.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrsBenno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Halpin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear MrsBenno72,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay, we're so pleased that you enjoyed so many of the amenities that the hotel has to offer - including those fabulous cocktails!

We're also pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and welcoming - that is something we always strive for!

Completely understand your frustrations with parking - we have a limited number of spaces on a first come first serve basis, but we're very lucky to have a car park directly behind the hotel. During high season Brighton is very busy so at times this can be very frustrating. Unfortunately, this is not an easily resolved issue, but we do apologise that you had such a long wait.

However we are so glad that you still had a wonderful time!

Thank you for your feedback, and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Nothing is too much hassle and the porters are so friendly and nothing was to much hassle, amazing breakfast( only go down if your very hungry lol) lovely experience at the hotel, definitely will be going again

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank staceymoore1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Halpin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear staceymoore1983,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay! We're so pleased that our staff were on hand to make it as pleasant as can be and that you enjoyed the amenities that we had on offer.

Thanks so much again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Small dated room you could only just walk around the bed window covered with film to hide poor view on the otherside had to pre book table for breakfast did not know had to prebook table for the bar and prices for drinks worse than a London pub this hotel is trading on its name only as it is not up to its previous standards not worth the price tag anymore not such a grand hotel better options there to choose from don’t be drawn in by it old reputation

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mdL8336JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Halpin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear mdL8336JM,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we do apologise that on this occasion your felt that the hotel experience was not up to standard.

We completely understand your frustrations to have to pre-book for our bar area. We do always recommend booking ahead, especially in the summer months, but we will ensure to make this a lot more clear going forwards.

We do hope you were able to enjoy other amenities as well as getting out and about in our lovely city while you stayed!

Thanks again for your feedback - it will go along way in continually helping us to deliver only the best experiences.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

After visiting the grand Brighton on many occasions and being impressed by the service and the staff
this time it was a completely different experience

Our Room was shabby and needed some TLC

After being out all day and getting back to the hotel at 930 pm we thought we would have a nightcap in the bar but to be told it was fully booked even to residents and we could not go in
It felt very unwelcoming to 2 ladies on there own

The manager seemed uninterested when advised her that we had not seen anything that had said we needed to book the bar in the evening

Very very disappointed with the grand as it was a very special place that my daughter and her husband had been too on many occasions

We will be going elsewhere in the future .

Breakfast was very nice

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carolwW2907QY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Halpin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear carolwW2907QY,

We're disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your experience with us on this occasion - we do apologise for this, as our mission is to ensure that every guest has the grand experience!

We do understand your frustrations with not being able to get a seat in the bar, we do always suggest booking ahead, but going forwards based on your feedback, we will make an effort to make this very clear, as we don't want anyone to be disappointed.

Thank you so much for all of your feedback, it will go along way in helping us to continually improve. We do apologise again for the experience you had on this occasion.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews