We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location for a relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George B
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a great find Blackthorn cottage was and we can really add very little to the many glowing reviews already posted.
We booked a week here so that we could use it as a base for exploring the local area whilst also chilling out. On our arrival we were greeted by Peter who showed us around and happily advised us of places to visit and provided details of the local pubs/eating places. The bottle of prosecco and hen & duck eggs provided was a really nice touch. The king sized bed is so comfortable as is the cosy lounge. This is a real home from home with the bonus of a pool and hot tub. All the utensils are provided if you want to eat in but a meal at the Queens Head pub is a must. Beware the portions are massive. We certainly recommend Blackthorn to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing and friendly place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. You had my idea of a perfect holiday: days out to see some of the many local sights, occasional trips further afield, local walks, eating in and eating out when you felt like a treat, but enough time to relax in the tub or the pool after a day out of sight-seeing - and the sun shone MOST of the time, raining at night for my garden! A win win situation.... Best to you both, and thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Blackthorn. It's great that you were able to enjoy the facilities and the weather was particularly ideal for it. Yes, we are very fortunate to have two pubs locally that both do good home-cooked food. The Robin Hood is the closest and as you appreciate is only a walk down the lane so guests can leave their car at the Blackthorn car park, as you did. We hope you'll return again soon. Thanks again for taking time to review our holiday cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay S
1 review
“Lovely Getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic getaway. Relaxing, quiet, and very clean. Amazing scenes and views with modern utilities. Will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Thanks for the review. Blackthorn is certainly a popular place to unwind and destress away from the busy world, and certainly the pool and hot tub helps to ensure that. We hope you'll come back sometime. It was also very nice to welcome your parents too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen b
1 review
“Our stay at Blackthorn beach house”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a 3 night stay here,was very nice and cozy,lovely comfortable king size bed.Beautiful view over country side,would come again.p.s Didn't get to use the lovely swimming pool & hot tub.Maybe next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Yes, I'm sorry you didn't get the chance to use the facilities, but we trust you managed to recharge your batteries and enjoy some of the local places anyway,. We hope you do have the opportunity to come again because one current Blackthorn upgrade that you'll be pleased to hear about is that we have now ordered a new Smart TV (with DVD), and will be trialling Netflix with their free 30 day offer too. So, next time you come there may be other reasons why the pool and hot tub don't get look in...! Many thanks for leaving the review, and hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurston...
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's break”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Blackthorn cottage was a amazing valentine's break.
Before we went to the cottage had lunch in the Robin Hood pub was very nice.
Got to the cottage was greeted by Peter he showed us inside and we had Prosecco a card and eggs on the table.
The eggs were from the chickens and ducks they have was a lovely touch.
Wasn't cold enough for the wood burner but we had to light it but had to open the doors it got so hot.
Bed was huge very comfortable a great nights sleep, had sole use of the pool and hot tub.
Best thing of the stay was star gazing while sat on the hot tub.
Honestly this place is amazing couldn't ask for anything more on valentine's.
Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Thank you
Peter and Karen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review but also for 'liking' our Blackthorn Holiday Cottage Facebook page. It's much appreciated. Star gazing from the hot tub sounds amazing, but is only something I manage to do occasionally as Blackthorn is so popular, and subsequently rarely empty - silly me! But the combination of being out in the countryside and close to the coast does mean big open skies and very little light pollution. At this time of year with fewer people visiting the area it does also mean that you can have the beaches to yourselves for romantic walks, and afterwards often find a cosy corner in a nice pub with a roaring fire. Thanks again for the review, and Karen and I hope to welcome you again to Blackthorn sometime...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing