We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stuart h
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A wonderful well presented cosy cottage in the heart of rye access to everything
The cottage has everything you could need and housed 4 adults very comfortably
We will be returning as the owner kept in touch at all times making us feel very welcome. Looking forward to staying again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2018
Thank you for reviewing.....it is always a pleasure to read our guests enjoyed a comfortable stay in our special corner of Rye. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubbledou...
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pick for a Stay in Rye”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Agree with all the other reviewers, a quiet, well maintained, little hide away in the heart of Rye. Thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay here Minutes walk to most of Rye - including some highly rated pubs. Before we arrived, I was concerned that there was no on site parking. However, this didn't prove to be an issue since there was a large public parking lot located near the train station, about a 5 minute walk from the flat. As mentioned by others, Jilly B, the owner, was great to work with. I was especially impressed by the fact she called mid-way through our stay to make sure we were doing OK.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Thank you for your very positive review. We were so pleased you enjoyed the central location of our cottage and as you state parking is not an issue and at only £2.00 per 24 hours.
We always like to make contact with our guests to ensure they are settled but try not to be intrusive so they can relax and enjoy their vacation.
Again thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Cottage and fantastic location”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What an amazing cottage. The pictures do not give it the justice it deserves. Very high standard. Bed is so comfortable. Very spacious lounge. Kitchen is very high specification.
The cottage is right in the main old part of town so it makes it very easy to get to all the places in Rye.
We loved it so much have already booked a return visit.
Jilly the owner is extremely helpful and friendly. Jilly kept in contact by phone to make sure we had everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thank you for such a positive review and appreciating the quality of the refurbishment of our cosy cottage which is tucked away in the citadel of Rye.
We look forward to hosting you again later in the year....we are sure you will have yet another wonderful experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a brilliant time in Rye. Jilly was a brilliant host, attentive but not intrusive. The cottage was very well finished and incredibly clean. The welcome pack of wine, tea, coffee and biscuits was a lovely touch. The location of the cottage is perfect. Literally a 10 second walk from the high street but tucked away so it was quiet and peaceful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you for your very positive review.....it is so important to us

that our guests have a comfortable stay. Our Welcome Basket we feel is a little touch to start a wonderful break in Rye and as you state our cottage is tucked away in the heart of the town. We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann G
1 review
“A great little cottage in Rye”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a great little 2 bedroom cottage in the centre of beautiful Rye. It is tastefully furnished and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Jilly is a very helpful and attentive host. I would definitely recommend Ockman Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thank you for such a positive review.....it is always lovely to read that our guests enjoy our little piece of Rye. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing