We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
276
41
14
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
41
14
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool houserange roverhot tubhonesty barafternoon teashakespeare suitespa treatmentslog fireshelley roomgarden roomon arrivalglass of champagnebirthday treatlounge areaoutdoor poolrelaxing stayspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Simply a great stay! The hotel is supremely comfortable with a lovely heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi served by a great pool house. The food choice for breakfast was great and very tasty, as an example grapefruit wasn't just pieces but fresh halves of both white and ruby grapefruit. Dinner was exceptional and taken at the separate restaurant, Le Talbooth, with a chauffeured Range Rover between the two. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pcwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

this place is just lovely. I have the Shakespeare suite, luxurious and with a private terrace. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is in the most glorious setting and the food of a high standard. Its not cheap. A main course for 2 with a couple of drinks is £50 a head but its worth it. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I only saw this room, it had a terrace which was important for me
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle-Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We booked the Talbooth as a family Christmas present. Hotel excellent. Great staff, great rooms, great service. Breakfast a hit.
The massive downside was the the restaurant on the river was hosting some sort of wedding sales event in the day and shut for the night. We had booked dinner as part of a package and were looking forward to a gourmet meal after years of trying to get there. We were very disappointed this was not pointed out at the time of the booking. The alternative was to drive us Milsoms. That is no better than a high street burger bar so we declined the offer. A real shame. We were advised to try the Sun in Dedham which was excellent pub dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andyian1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We have just returned from an absolutely fabulous two night stay in the Eliot room. All aspects of the Hotel are superb. The accommodation, the food and the staff are all 1st class. The pool area is truly amazing. The proximity of the fabulous Milsoms and La Tolbooth, together with the chauffeur service in the Range Rover, is just another bonus in choosing Maison Tolbooth.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevec0les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stayed for one night in a lovely room with stairs leading down to an enormous bathroom. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and the bed was very comfy. The room was quite warm and we had the windows open all night. We went to dinner at the Tolbooth and a courtesy car took us and picked us up which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Saralou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews