We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The name says it all 'Welcome'”

Review of Welcome Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

yamfan
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The name says it all 'Welcome'”
Reviewed 28 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic week at Welcome Cottage. The property has everything you could possibly need and was spotlessly clean, with additional hand sanitiser and wipes, so we felt totally save holidaying during the COVID outbreak. Our party had reduced to 6 because of the pandemic but the cottage is more than spacious enough for the 12 it can accomodate. We particularly liked the large conservatory which had room for everyone, but there are 2 other sitting rooms, a dining room and a table in the kitchen for everyone to have their space. There is plenty of secure parking and loads of room in the well-kept garden.
As the property had been empty for 3 months there were a couple of minor issues to resolve, but the owners visited in person to ensure everything was safe and secure, a lovely personal touch particularly as they don't live locally (thank you very much, was much appreciated)
The centre of Bourton is a couple of minutes walk away, with pubs, restaurants and shops, with the co-op a short walk further. A lovely picturesque place for a few lazy days away.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2020
This is such a lovely detailed review and we're delighted to read it! Thank you most sincerely for taking time to write and submit it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3964HNja...
1 review
“Full House”
Reviewed 18 March 2020 for a stay in March 2020

We booked the Welcome Cottage for a weekend long reunion party. The venue comfortably accommodates the 12 people advertised, with well appointed rooms and all up 4 bathrooms available!

The social rooms provide a great range from spacious and light for hosting and smaller cozy sitting rooms.

The local centre is less than 5 minutes walk away, and has a great range of places to eat and drink, as well as curios to look around.

All in all an exceptional place to spend a long weekend, and a fantastic house to send it in. We wouldn't hesitate to go back in the future!

Date of stay: March 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for taking time to submit this lovely review! It makes us very happy to learn that you enjoyed your time there - and would visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPontinha
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome Cottage is part of the experience!”
Reviewed 1 February 2020 for a stay in January 2020
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I went to Bourton-on-the-water for a weekend in Jan on my birthday and we stayed in the Welcome Cottage for 2 nights.
I have to say that this Cottage was the main reason why we loved so much to go there.
We were 12 but the place is big enough for everyone and so comfortable! We loved our meals around the big wooden table, all rooms are very comfortable, two of them with toilets, everything is very very clean, and we loved having 3 living rooms that gave us enough space to play their boarding games. We were also very impressed with the kitchen because they provide for everything that you can imagine you might need and is very organised with labels everywhere! In our group there was a 2 year child and again, everything that we needed was already in the house.
The location is perfect: it’s very silent and relaxing but you can walk to the postcard village where you’ll find everything you need: supermarkets, pubs, shops, amazing bakeries, etc. everything is walking distance from the house.
The owners are very easy to communicate with and will help with anything you need.
I strongly recommend staying in this place because it will enrich your experience.
We all loved it so much that we would like to go back one day during the summer to enjoy the outside space.
Thank you Margaret and David!

Date of stay: January 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2020
Your lovely review has given us an enormous amount of pleasure! We were thrilled when we read it and we appreciate most sincerely your taking all that time to write in great detail and give us such warm positive comments and feedback. Thank you VERY much for doing that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefreema...
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 January 2020 for a stay in January 2020

Wonderful short break at this beautifully appointed cottage just steps away from the centre of the village. David & Margaret had thought of everything ... fantastically equipped kitchen, lovely toiletries in the bathrooms and clear instructions so we were able to take advantage of the cosy fire and everything else this beautiful cottage has to offer.
Thank you on behalf of all the Freeman clan. We hope to return again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2020
It's made us really happy to read your lovely review. It is most kind of you to take time to submit these very warm words. Such feedback means a lot to us. Our sincere thanks for this - and for your visit..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
705 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Large comfortable accommodation close to the village centre”
Reviewed 14 January 2020 for a stay in January 2020

Family get together and Welcome Cottage was great. To call it a cottage is misleading as our party of 11 stayed here and had plenty of room.

All managed to sit around the dining table. Comfortable lounge too. Kitchen space is tight, but kitchen is well appointed and we had 4 cooked meals during the weekend.

Nice and warm during our stay.

Parking for 3 large cars.

Only a few minutes from the centre of the village, but the area is lovely and quiet.

Date of stay: January 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2020
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.