We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, Fantastic cottage & location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
159 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 159 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kaycockro...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, Fantastic cottage & location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this beautiful cottage with my husband and 2 boys. Excellent communication with booking and very happy with the accommodation upon arrival. It was spotless, comfortable beds and everything you would need had been thought of including all the extras including the food supplies and books left for the boys which was very thoughtful. The area is fabulous very picturesque and literally everything is on your doorsteps, so many restaurants to choose from. I can recommend the Rose Tree. We had a lovely stay wish it had been longer and would not hesitate in recommending Lavender Cottage. We would love to return some day. Thank you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
I'm pleased that you appreciated the cottage and the location. The Rose Tree is always a favourite for a lovely meal, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmetzub...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great 3 night break in this wonderful cottage, which gives you the cosiest and most homely welcome. The owners Hillary and Alistair has made everything comforting for us from the moment we booked till the day we departed. They paid attention to every little detail from each and everything supplied in the house to leaving presents for kids on their beds and even my husbands birthday present. They definitely take pride in what they are supplying and deserve the biggest appreciation. Cottage is only two minutes walking from the town centre which is one of the most picturesque places we have ever been. We had a wonderful time and strongly recommend it to everyone. Don't delay, get booking. Big thank you for both Hillary and Alistair. Mehmet- Havva- Baran - Arda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for setting up an account and posting this wonderful review as soon as you got home! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your short break at Lavender Cottage and that you appreciate the service we're providing for our guests. We'll look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caz R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I had a wonderful time at this cottage. Hilary went out of her way to ensure we felt welcomed and catered for. She even picked us up from the station and dropped us back there after our stay!

We were mightily impressed with the care she has taken with the cottage and the few extras on arrival. The fridge was stocked with the essentials (wine included!) and had an array of films and books to enjoy whilst there.

The area was lovely and we enjoyed a few good dinners.

Very happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The few extras!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm pleased that you appreciated everything that's included at Lavender Cottage and the service we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muz720
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An Umbrella In The Rain ( Fantastic Cottage)”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived at Lavender Cottage on one of the most awful nights in Feb, I'd booked the cottage for my partners birthday & we were not disappointed - we were absolutely delighted with the accommodation, great kitchen to cook in everything to hand for a lovely Sunday dinner! Hilary had thought about everything even down to the little things like salt & pepper, even a delicious muesli & fab bread, milk great for when you arrive, this meant so much as we arrived a little late so we had a bite to eat the next morning, as the last thing we wanted to do was search for a shop in those weather conditions the previous night.

Lavender cottage you can tell is a much loved cottage that we really enjoyed staying in, Hilary & Alistar had even gone to the trouble of leaving a little present for my partner for his birthday this was a lovely thought & very kind of them!

We can fully recommend anyone to stay in this little gem of a place, we had a booked an meal at stow on the wolds & needed a taxi there so we could both have a drink & if you need a taxi this was no trouble either we just sent an email to Hilary & she advised us of names & telephone nos for us to call
I was so glad I asked the question as there not to many taxis around this next of the woods so you do need to book one early as I believe but hey get booked up quickly

To sum up I could of easily of stayed on for another few days but unfortunately Had to get back to work, a truely wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
You really did have the worst possible weather for your stay here, but I'm pleased that you still managed to enjoy yourselves. Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lel61
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, fabulous place to stay for those cosy getaways.”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the time we booked, communication with Hillary was great. On arrival we found that Hillary had taken the time to stock up with the essentials such as milk, bread etc. and we were made to feel that this was a home from home.
The property was immaculately clean and very comfortable. There was even an abundance of relevant literature available to enable us to plan our stay.
The location is excellent and within easy level walking distance of the village centre and shops, with the river not more than 50mtrs away. A few minutes walk in the other direction you will find Birdland and the Model Village.
Easy access to major routes makes this an ideal base to explore the area.
If I had to find any negatives, and this is not easy, I would say that in the height of the summer car parking space may be a bit harder to find, but this is not based on fact as there wasn't a problem when we stayed.
I would certainly recommend Lavender Cottage, and would not hesitate to book another stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not pick one thing as all was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The village does get very busy during the Summer, but the two large car parks cope very well. We're lucky that the cottage is tucked away in the back streets, so the Day Trippers don't find their way to our hidden part of the village for parking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing