We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
159 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 159 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lala13042...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Amazing cottage in a quiet location. Within walking distance of the pretty high street but far enough away to retreat for a relax in the garden, which catches the sun in the afternoon. The owners have catered for all needs and kindly left bread and milk meaning we could have a cuppa on arrival. The cottage was clean and washing up stuff provided (other cottages I've visited have not provided equipment). Adequate number of pots/pans etc for the number of guest to allow for self catering. This is the second time we have stayed here and will again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thanks for sharing your experience of Lavender Cottage. Your first stay was probably a blur as you accepted the marriage proposal, so it was lovely to welcome you back as a married couple.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmh877
County Laois, Ireland
1 review
“Holidays 2017”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Finally getting to write a review, we stayed here for a week with our two kids in July and it was honestly the nicest holiday we have ever had! We absolutely loved the cottage it was like a home away from home. The location was perfect and the house itself was beautiful. The views from each bedroom as you can see in the pictures were gorgeous too! Hilary and Alistair went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed! Can't wait to come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you! I'm happy that we were able to contribute to your best holiday so far. Children always fall for the charm of the cottage and we include things to make them as welcome as the grown-ups. We'll look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzha
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exellent holiday in lavendar cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We went to Cotswold with our 12 years old son in 2017 Aug. Hilary & his husband are very helpful to give us the direction of how to arrive the cottage. And the cottage is the same as the photos from webside. They even leave Lego toys in their cottage. My son was very excited to play in the cottage at night. We cooked in the kitchen. The cottage is in the centre of burton on the water. But very quiet. We all like it very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here and that your son appreciated all the things we include for our younger guests. I know that you've returned to China with some lovely memories of your holiday in England.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thanks for sharing your experience and raising a couple of valid points. I appreciate that the issue with the stairs was a comment, not a complaint. For other people reading this, we do make it clear, both in our listing & via personal email, that the cottage is not suitable for those with mobility problems. There are hand holds on the stairs, but it's not possible to install banisters. I'm sorry that your father had difficulty. This part of the village was built long before people had cars, so it's good to hear that you found a parking spot every day. Our guests have never had a problem parking close to the cottage, but it can get busy during peak holiday time. There are some lovely walks starting in the village, so maybe we'll see you & your husband in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sissel E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in Cotswold”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages is located in the center of Bourton-on-the-water with walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the town. it is a lovely cottage in lovely and quiet surroundings. The cottage is small, however it has all the essentials for a family. It is very tidy and clean. The children loved the collection of DVDs, cardboard games and books that were in the cottage. The owners were always available online for any questions or queries one might have.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
I'm pleased that your children enjoyed everything that we include for our younger guests. I try to check emails every hour because I appreciate that our many overseas guests won't have UK cell phones with them but that most will have access to emails. Thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review of your stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing