We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning town house in wonderful Montpellier”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montpellier House

'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
William IV Drawing Room (front)
William IV Drawing Room (front). The collection of Regency concave mirrors lend a sense of drama.
William IV Fireplace with wood burning stove
William IV Drawing Room (rear)
William IV Drawing Room (rear) - the room features a William IV period oak wine cooler
Kitchen island, bar counter with two pull out drawer dishwashers for glasses.
Separate scullery kitchen provides additional space, features include filtered boiling water on tap
'Beau Nash' Four Poster Master Bedroom Suite
Four Poster Detail
The Beau Nash Four Poster Bedroom Suite Overlooks Montpellier Gardens - the perfect Bridal Suite
Beau Nash Suite - Regency period antiques (unrestored Chippendale stool with Irish silk pillow top)
Beau Nash Bedroom en-suite shower room with rainfall shower and Molton Brown toiletries
Stratford first floor bedroom suite overlooking the courtyard garden
All principal bedrooms have flat screen TVs with a wide choice of channels
Hand picked Regency and period antiques feature throughout (picture Stratford suite)
En-suite bathroom with limestone bath surround and rainfall shower (Stratford Suite)
Billington - second floor suite with blue colour hues
All bedrooms have generous storage space (Billington suite)
Entrance hallway detail with antique oval mirror and Regency console table
Staircase with fine art and oil paintings feature throughout
Exterior - the building was totally restored to its Regency splendour over 20 months, from 2011
South facing rear courtyard garden, planted with herbs and flowers
Welcome to the Montpellier Town House
The Town House seen from Montpellier Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning town house in wonderful Montpellier”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Simply amazing town house with 4 floors of stunningly decorated rooms in period style. Owners and manager super helpful and accommodating. Fashionable Montpellier is on your doorstep with plenty of bars, boutiques and restaurants. Will be back again! Flawless!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Let me know if you want to come back and we'll make sure you have another very memorable stay. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and stunning venue with a central location, ideal for small wedding parties and functions.”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is my second visit to Montpellier House as a venue for hosting one of our more exclusive events. As always we were made to feel welcome by the owner Cllr. Andrew Chard and were well informed about all the amenities.

Stylish, elegant and stunning are just a few of the many words I'd use to describe Montpellier House. The venue was centrally located and the cleanliness was of an exceptional standard. The venue was warm with central heating throughout and the automatic lighting was convenient when walking into the different rooms.

I would highly recommend this venue as a holiday rental. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is excellent cooking facilities available. It is ideal for accommodating smaller parties and private functions.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullets69
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful decor”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When you enter any of the rooms at Montpellier House you're attention is immediately engaged as the interior design is something else. Strikingly bold and baroque you immediately feel relaxed and a little bit special. A stunning picture of a young Queen Elizabeth and little touches like riding boots on the stairs help create a very British feel to the place. I've attended a number of functions at Montpellier House and would recommend it for social and business events as well as being a lovely place to stay in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The classy feel to the place
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pichaiv
Thaialnd
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Cheltenham”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is my first time to visit CHELTENHAM and I was very impress with the beautiful city. The hotel I stayed also excellent. Location in the city center, so many restaurants, bars and shopping within walking distant. The room is very beautiful, spacious and comfortable. There is kitchen with all cooking facilities and coffee machine provide to all guests. Living room with fireplace is very comfortable and relaxing for evening drink. I hope that I would like to visit again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
We enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you back in Cheltenham very soon. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riddler76
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully furnished Regency house with excellent entertaining space”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here, having booked at short notice, for four nights. The owner Andrew met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the property and many features. The hamper and wines left for us were generous as were the asides - multiple coffees / teas / washing up tabs / washing machine liquids etc etc.

As we used to live in Cheltenham, we knew our way around the locale and this was part of the attraction of Montpellier House - it is superbly situated.

We had family over with us for a couple of the nights and we quickly found that the house was is superb for entertaining with ample space and plentifully stocked for dinner parties (including multiple ovens and large hob space as well as three dishwashers) life was made stress-free.

The decor in the bedrooms is refined although the four-poster in the master bedroom is stand-out wow. The living areas are more elaborately decorated and add a theatrical element which helps with the 'having a great time' feeling.

We are quick to spot issues with properties however we didn't have any niggles with Montpellier House. Our only disappointment was to leave so soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Dear 'Riddler'. Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try to ensure all our guests do and that each one is special. We hope that you will come back in the none too distant future. Best Wishes. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing