We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Countryside Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden Lovely garden seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden
Lovely garden seating
Open country views
Velvet sofas, low lighting and a log stove. Very cosy!
Dining area
A perfect bathroom with luxury toiletries
Lots of interesting designer touches
Luxury bed under the 17th century beams
Hand built kitchen with high quality equipment
Vintage china, crystal glasses, bone handled knives and silver plate cutlery
Red Arrows flying during Kemble airshow
The cottage viewed from the wild garden in the orchard
The thyme & lavender footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Rich_Wade...
1 review
“Countryside Perfection”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you're looking for a cute, homely cottage in the middle of the Cotswolds for a countryside getaway - then look no further. This is perfect.

The cottage as a whole is steeped in history and to say it has character would be a huge understatement. The only disappointment was that it wasn't wuite warm enough for us to enjoy the beautiful garden at the back! There was tea and biscuits to greet us on arrival, which was a lovely touch - we took advantage of this almost immediately. When you sat back at night, with the fire on, and a cup of tea - you knew you were living he dream.

The most relaxing holiday I've had - it's a shame we couldn't go for longer! But I can safely say we will be going back!

p.s - a car is necessary unless you're a keen walker!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica_S...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Birthday treat”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a birthday getaway for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time relaxing and escaping the daily grind of London living!

We had everything we needed in the cottage to stay inside for the entire stay, but we visited nearby sites such as Bourton on the Water, and Cheltenham during the festival which were both great days out. But at the end of the day it was always nice to get back to the cottage to enjoy the log fire and the quietness of the area.

We would definitely recommend a stay at Asphodel Cottage to anyone, especially those that live and work in London and just want a good break! Would definitely come back!!

Dan & Jess

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general cosy feeling of the place, lovely bath!!
Liked least: Although in keeping with the cottage, the staircase can be tricky with a cup of tea in both hands!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahIwan
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury hideaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Asphodel for 4 nights at the beginning of February and just wish we could have had longer. Everything was provided and our beautiful thatched cottage did feel like home, we relaxed as soon as we arrived. We were even really lucky with the weather despite the time of year- two lovely sunny days where we walked all day. It wouldn't even have mattered if we had been snowed in, would have been an excuse to play games, drink tea and eat the delicious biscuits! Thank you for creating such a unique and peaceful sanctuary to really get away from it all, we hope to come back again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackiebre...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect romantic cottage for our wedding anniversary!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was just as good as the 1st time. It is the most beautiful romantic place to spend time together. Far enough away from the towns to be peaceful but near enough to go and wander.
The cottage is beautifully finished, cosy but practical. The log fire was lovely in the evening. And i love the claw foot bath. We will have to visit sometime in the summer months to make use of the beautiful garden. I feel sure this will not be out last stay, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: decor and log fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne R
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is a beautiful and luxurious cottage which provided a perfect weekend away from the kids. Great pub within walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend and hope to be back one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing