We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a terrific place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barncastle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Nick D
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“What a terrific place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We felt very lucky to have found Barncastle to rent. It is situated In an idyllic location with sweeping views of the gentle Cotswold countryside. It has a warm, spacious layout that easily accommodates large groups. The owner, Valerie, welcomed us as if we were family, and Barncastle had the feel of a well-equipped, fully functioning home. We felt that the rental was excellent value for money and, perhaps because of this, it was necessary to book well in advance.

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickieboy...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 9 adults and two children used both Barncastle and Barncottage. The space, comfort and quality and quantity of the facilities are all 5 star. Plenty of different spaces to loose oneself if desired. Painswick, Stroud, Gloucester are nearby and the whole of the beautiful Cotswolds are also within easy reach. Location is quiet with outstanding views across the lovely Painswick valley. Val King the owner replies to all queries efficiently by return. We all liked everything, have no criticisms whatsoever and our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, comfort, space and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freakybab...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay, wonderful for adults and children”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I have stayed here about 3 times now with my family. Great setting and walks. Short distance from swimming pool, supermarket and main town. Facilities are amazing and they have catered for everyone. Thoroughly recommend!!!

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndeng12...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A truly fabulous treasure hidden in Gloucestershire”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We are greeted like family when we arrive, nothing is too much trouble. The property is spacious but inclusive. We had 3 generations together and the space was perfect for everyone. The list of other services we could purchase, alternative therapies, or meals cooked are really novel. We were close to Gloucester and Stroud and Colesbourne snowdrops were spectacular. Feel nervous reviewing such a gem as it may get so popular we wont be able to book out next visit!

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurnetta
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magic location, fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was our fourth year staying here for a week with all the family. It's like walking into someone's home - everything you could possibly want is provided. Fabulously high quality furnishings and kitchen equipment, exceptionally clean and the owner has become a firm friend, popping in for a chat. There are great walks in practically every direction and a lovely view over the green hills of Gloucestershire. There's a cottage too so we rent that also now that the family's getting even bigger. I can't recommend this accommodation highly enough. Book with confidence.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.