We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for a meal in Stow”

Sheep on Sheep Street
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Description: Sheep on Sheep Street has a seasonal menu based around the woodfire oven which features in the centre of the restaurant. On the menu are gourmet southern Italian-style wood fire pizzas. The Sheep welcomes families with a bespoke children's menu available at all times, including freshly made pizzas.
Restaurant details
Description: Sheep on Sheep Street has a seasonal menu based around the woodfire oven which features in the centre of the restaurant. On the menu are gourmet southern Italian-style wood fire pizzas. The Sheep welcomes families with a bespoke children's menu available at all times, including freshly made pizzas.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Great food and friendly staff make this a wonderful spot to grab a meal while in Stow. While the Sheep was surprisingly busy for a Monday night in September, they were able to accommodate our party of four without issue. My wife and I split the excellent Sheep pizza and each had a side salad, then finished the meal off with the Chocolate Nemesis. The food was excellent and the portions were just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TucsonTravelGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSheepGM, Reception at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Many thanks

Phoebe
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the bed and breakfast here, and were talked into having dinner here. I am glad that we were! The starters, dinner, and desserts were perfectly done, and couldn't have stopped at a better place. Highly recommend anyway one to spend at least 2 nights here and eat there breakfast and dinner!

Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSheepGM, Reception at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Phoebe
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We eat at the sheep all the time and wouldn’t dream of taking new guests anywhere else it’s so consistently perfect. It’s super dog friendly which is a huge bonus and lots of choice on the new menu.

The staff are amazing and so friendly. I accidentally forgot to ask for no cheese on my burger but nothing was too much trouble for them and they amended the order straight away. All of our meals were delicious - Couldn’t fault a single thing will be coming back again and again.

1  Thank amy1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSheepGM, Reception at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love having dogs to join us and hope you will return soon to try out more of our menu!

Phoebe
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped by on the off chance of a table on a Saturday evening. It seems we timed it just right, and were seated quickly.

The front of house and waiting staff were charming and professional. The atmosphere was very pleasant, and the surroundings were just lovely - a nice blend of eatery and pub. Service was quick and efficient. The toilets were clean and well maintained.

Both the drinks and food menu have some interesting and unusual items. Pricing is fairly standard - £2.50 for 330ml Coke, meals ranging from around £10-20, with a margherita pizza at one extreme and steak at the other.

One of the main selling points of this pub seems to be its stone baked pizza oven. To our disappointment this was broken and pizzas were off the menu.

Discounting the pizzas, there are a few nice vegetarian options on the menu. I went for the halloumi burger. The food was served quickly and I have to say that I was disappointed with mine at first sight. It looked very dry and like a big hunk of cheese on a dry bun. However, initial impressions can be deceiving, and with a little condiment-based modification it was a delicious and filling meal. I liked the spiced aubergine and roasted cherry tomatoes. The beef burger with onion rings, bacon jam and other bits and bobs got rave reviews from my other half. We both paid 50p extra for the sweet potato fries.

The dessert menu looked to be the highlight of the whole affair. The menu had some delicious sounding options. Unfortunately I was far too full to try any of them this time. Hopefully next time!

Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSheepGM, Reception at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. We apologise that the pizza oven was broken and hope that you join us again soon to try it out.

Many thanks
Phoebe
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

- Gorgeous food, calamari was just stunning, steak was great, and pudding was very indulgent.
- Decore was lovely, tasteful and nice ambience.
- Staff very kind and very attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissMable17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSheepGM, Reception at Sheep on Sheep Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon to try out more of our menu!

Phoebe
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheep on Sheep Street also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Sheep on Sheep Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing