We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from two nights stay here. We were both very impressed by the building and it's location.If you choose to stay in a period manor house you can expect some ware and tear and this adds to the classic charm of the place. We stayed in a feature bedroom located in the main building with stunning views across the well kept lawns. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable with a bright modern bathroom. All the staff were very polite and helpful.The highlight for us was the two delicious dinners served in the Conservatory and also the two fine breakfasts with plenty of choice for all tastes. To sum up.....a fabulous break!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building in one of the feature bedrooms for a traditional feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    480
    244
    102
    59
See reviews for
187
884
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a generously sized room within the main building.However I am surprised that the Hotel is classified as 4 Star,as elements were absent from the room,namely a mini bar,bottles of water and flannels,which I associate with a 4 Star rating.However the restaurant served some very good food at Dinner and there was a very good choice at Breakfast.Various finishes around the Hotel were in need of redecoration or replacing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithI519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a Wedding locally and had a room in the Orangery. We were lucky as the weather was good but it would be a pain in the rain as it is some distance from the house. The room was very adequate, clean and had everything we needed.
We had dinner in the conservatory one evening. The view was fabulous and the food and wine really good but although we had booked and agreed a price for the set menu we were told it was not available that night so we would have to choose from the a la carte. As we were entertaining a number of people and not wishing to create a problem we accepted this and chose and enjoyed the meal. However when it came to settling the bill it was considerably more than expected. "That's because YOU chose to go a la carte"! We pointed out that this was not the case and we had indeed queried it twice before placing our order. To the credit of the receptionist this was eventually sorted but it did not create a good impression.
All the staff were friendly but at times lacking in training and direction. At one meal we were seated on a large round table in the centre of the dining room but food was served across others who were actually eating at the time - certainly not 4* service. With a little more attention to detail this place could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in a room in the Orangery, which is detached from the main building. The room disappointed us both. The pillow case had slipped off to reveal a grubby pillow. The carpet was mankey and the skirting boards were dusty. The bathroom was below average. The setting of the hotel is impressive on the drive in. We found the general experience disappointing at this hotel and expected more. I am surprised they can advertise their facilities to include a spa. The spa is a steam room and sauna. Both which are in need of refurbishishment. The bottom of the door was rotted next to the steam room. I had a manicure and pedicure in the spa. The whole spa experience was disappointing and distinctly below average. The air of the hotel was that there wasn't a manager in charge and some staff would have benefitted from training. The staff seemed to be going about their work but with no direction or leadership. The girl when we checked in was flustered and confused. Some advice for the hotel would be to inspect their facilities as a consumer. I got the impression this place has gone down hill and is in trouble. The cigar shack had dead flies on the window, a window clean would have sorted that. The hotel had an air that it was refurbished 5 years ago and had just got run down since without ongoing maintenance. It felt that management were detached and didn't care. In the ladies loo by the foyer, the floor tiles crunched underfoot as need relaying. The middle cubicle door didn't close because of it. The best bit was the restaurant. The food was great and their only saving grace. I would recommend the restaurant but not the hotel and 'spa'. There seems to be quite a number of other places to stay in the area that might have been better.

Room Tip: Eat there but don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here in mid August with husband and 2adult children. Setting and grounds were beautiful. Stayed in the new addition off the main building. Room and bath very clean, spacious and comfortable. Only problem was that we were on the first floor, with windows directly on parking lot. To get any air in the room anyone walking by could see into the room. At night we had to keep the curtains closed, causing the room to get very stuffy and warm.
My boys had a room on the third floor, smaller, yet clean and comfortable. Same problem though with air circulation, as the windows couldn't be opened more than a few inches. Frustrating because the night air was cool.
The included breakfast was very good and the staff was very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room on an upper floor so you can leave the windows open for air at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maps60718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.2 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
3.3 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
3.4 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
3.6 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
4.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price range (per night): RM430 - RM983
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing