We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good family holiday home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Twin Bedroom
Swimming pool
Entrance to Luckley Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shelley S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family holiday home”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We went as a large family group, nine in total, and everyone had a good time. The house is spacious and well-equipped, and the garden and grounds, with the pool, games room, tennis court and field (shared with other holiday cottages) was perfect for the grandchildren to use.

The house itself is full of character, but is in need of some updating - the sitting room and dining furniture in particular has definitely seen better days, and it took forever to cook anything on the hob in the kitchen as the rings were so slow.

The location is beautiful, lovely rural setting, with picturesque Cotswold villages and towns within a couple of miles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house
Liked least: The poor condition of the furniture in the sitting room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic location for family gathering”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We hired all three properties at Luckley Farm to sleep 34 people across 3 generations, and had a lovely long relaxing weekend.

There was space to meet together in the Farmhouse for buffet lunch plus plenty to keep the younger generation entertained such as the tennis court, games room and thoughtful baskets of toys in the Farmhouse and Granary.

Luckley Farm is well placed for visiting many local attractions whilst being sounded by beautiful countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Special touches like shower gel & shampoo in all bathrooms
Liked least: Wifi struggled with so many of us having mobile devices
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claireabe...
Notts, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday weekend!”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wow!

I booked out the farmhouse at Luckley to celebrate my 30th birthday weekend and don't think I could have found anywhere better!

Living room and dining area was wonderful, lovely log fire with cosy sofas and chairs for us all to gather round in the evening. The main room is pretty huge with lots of space for eating and relaxing for the 12 of us.

The bedrooms are all excellent, and the four poster in the main room was a real treat. With group holidays you sometimes feel that part of the group end of being 'short changed' with bad rooms but I'm pleased to report that everyone had a lovely room to retire to at the end of the day.

We all loved the period features and furniture which is all over the house, which makes it feel really homely and not like a 'holiday let'.

Another real upside was the number of bathrooms and showers, the main ones being fitted out beautifully, which meant there were no queues in the morning.

The games room with ping pool, pool, table football and air hockey was so much fun! We spent a good few hours in there on Saturday afternoon listening to Radio 1 and feeling like teenagers at youth club again!

The surrounding area is heavenly, beautiful views and some of the guys went on a lovely walk to the next village on Sunday morning. We also popped into Stow on the Wold to do some antique shopping which was lovely.

All in all an absolutely fabulous weekend and I couldn't have enjoyed my birthday celebrations more, will definitely consider coming back again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strapeez
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lucky to stay at luckly”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Plenty of space for our party of 8 adults and 5 children, the owners couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The games room was a great addition for the older children. The farm house was warm with a great feeling of been 'a home' for the weekend. Wished we could of stayed longer to explore the wonderful countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quirky and comfortable (half) farmhouse.”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

12 of us (plus 2 children under 2) stayed here for a long weekend in November. Overall we were pleased and the space worked well for us, but there were a few things that were a bit frustrating.

In terms of location, the farmhouse is relatively easy to find - pass the Coach and Horses pub (between Stow on the Wold and Moreton in Marsh) on the left, take the next left, and it's a few mins drive down on the left (with parking also on the left!). There is not much around where Luckley Farm is located.

Communication with Pauline and Robert before arriving was all good and our emails had been quickly responded to; details were provided of companies that can provide catering, etc, but these seemed quite pricey. We decided to order groceries for the weekend from Sainsburys, and it was very handy that there are 2 fridges and a freezer (though 1 fridge was itself more like a freezer!).

The 6 bedrooms can be made up as a combination of doubles and twins, which suited our group. Some of the rooms are big, none are tiny - beds generally looked quite old (in an antique sense) and the mattresses were very soft. Beware choosing a room with a short bed if tall!

The decor in the house is a real mixture, generally quite old fashioned but then the bathrooms are very swish and modern. Toiletries were provided which was good, and we asked for towels to be provided too.

The things that frustrated us are that:
- the wi fi was really rubbish - not one of us got proper access the whole weekend. This wasn't a problem as such, but should be sorted out;
- the hot water ran out quite quickly and we had to fill up a bath for one of the babies with boiled water from a kettle;
- the two main ovens on the rangemaster heat up to completely different temperatures when set at the same temperature; and
- you don't actually have the whole house - we noticed that it is split into two (though no rooms are linked).

The farmhouse has a nice garden accessible through the lounge doors, and there is a tennis court and separate games room which we didn't use in the end.

I would recommend the farmhouse if in a big group of people looking to spend some time away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$378
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing