We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experince ever!”
Review of Carlton House

Carlton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wotton-under-Edge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton House
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at Carlton House on a walking holiday over the weekend of the queens Diamond Jubillee and had a wonderful time the house is fasinating and the rooms are furnished to an extreamly high standard beds are memory foam so we had a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and even the small details were perfect. Pete and Pauline were so friendly and Wotten Under Edge is a jem of a place really didnt want to come home I would recomend it to anyone fantastic!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xanthe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Carlton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We recently stayed at Carlton House while doing the Cotswolds Way walk.
Pauline gave us such a warm welcome. The room was delightful and the whole house very beautiful. She and Pete cooked a delicious breakfast and gave us some local tips on where to eat for dinner. A great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

If you enjoy the company of friendly and knowledgeable hosts, and accommodation of the finest quality, Carlton House is for you. The breakfast choice is flexible, and the quality superb, not to mention generous. If staying in the town, this is well worth placing at your top table of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safetyrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Following the Cotswold Way led us to the lovely town of Wotton-under-Edge and we're glad it did. Carlton House is right on the trail- we could see a signpost from our window- but it was more than just convenient. Pauline and Peter have lovingly shaped a historic house into a warm and comfortable bed and breakfast. Full of history and character, but loaded with modern conveniences including a beautiful ensuite bath, flat screen TV, and a memory foam bed. With the zeal of people who love their town, Peter and Pauline reccomended places for dinner and pointed out the highlights of this historical but very lively town. We had multiple options for breakfast and the salmon and scrambled eggs that we chose was fantastic. We only had the chance to stay one night- the trail awaited- but we would have loved to stayed longer.

Room Tip: A great stop on the Cotswold Way
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEstados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Welcomed personally by Peter, beautiful rooms, well appointed with very comfortable beds - essential after a days walking on the Cotswold Way! Lovely breakfast menu, cooked to order and beautifully presented.
Great stop over for the Cotswold Way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernCrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
0.2 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
160 reviews
6.5 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,590 reviews
7.3 km away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
437 reviews
8.4 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
733 reviews
6.2 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Address: 4 Long Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range: RM370 - RM427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton House is situated in the centre of Wotton-under-Edge, a beautiful Cotswold Market Town, within easy reach of Bristol, Bath, Gloucester and Cheltenham. It is also ideally sitauted as a base for Cotswold Way walkers. The accommodation offered is a self catering apartment comprising twin beds, a shower room, a sofa bed in the lounge area, a fully fitted kitchen including washer dryer. There is car parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing