We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Portcullis Hotel(Chipping Sodbury)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens(Thornbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This B&B was suggested by family in the village. We were not disappointed as the owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. On arrival we learnt that we had been moved to a larger quieter room at the rear of the property at no extra charge, as it was 'A level' results weekend and they anticipated some celebratory noise. We certainly didn't get disturbed and the room we were in was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Free view TV reception was poor, but this was possibly due to stormy weather at time. Wifi available and good. The breakfast menu is simple but extremely good - the best full English we've ever had. Can also recommend the smoked salmon and scramble egg. When back in Wotton will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Three of us stayed together in a charming room at the top of the house with big comfortable beds, plenty of space and everything we needed. The hosts were very pleasant and the breakfast good. The only minor drawback was the fact we had to park our car on the street as there was a full house and the patio had just been repaired, no dramas at all except for those of us who worry about getting parking tickets, which didn't happen. I would definitely recommend this B&B, it was of a high standard and provided for a lovely start to our tour of the Cotswolds. We had a good meal in the pub at the top of the road and visited two other very different pubs on the way back down the hill to the B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

My friend and i couldnt book our normal guest house in Wotton under Edge, but upon arrival and meeting of the owners Pauline and Peter we knew we werent going to be let down. Firstly we arrived in the morning after dropping off my mates motor bike for a service in nearby Cromhall and immediately taken to our rooms where we refreshed after travelling nearly 300 miles in all our motor cycle gear on probably the hottest day of the year. We went for lunch to The Royal Oak where we had a ploughmans, came back to the guest house to get ready to go out for the night and met for the first time the owners, what a lovely charming couple couldnt do enough for us. We asked for some more tea bags for our room which they left outside the room when we arrived back late at night but with more fresh milk and a big fan to help cool the room down, god did we need it that night. In the morning we went downstairs to have our breakfast wow what a breakfast, Pete you could always become a chef if you need to.We only stopped the one night but we will be going again because we go to Gloucester every couple of years. But also i will be going before that and take my wife for a long weekend. If you happen to be that way on your journey stay at the Carlton House you will not be let down. See you soon Peter and Pauline.From your biker customers Steve and Neil.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Carlton House for a friend's wedding last weekend. We stayed for one night, bed and breakfast.

The building itself is fantastic and full of history and character. It's a 17th century building which has a long history and interesting history. It was originally built as a merchants house, it has also been used as a communications base during the war, a secondary school, divided into offices for various small businesses including a dentists and a printers. It's owners Pauline White and Peter Roberts are extremely welcoming and friendly people. They were very happy to tell us about the building and answer any questions we had about the local area.

Based on Long Street, Carlton House is about as central to the town centre as you can get and ideally situated for nearby pubs, restaurants and shopping. It's a small town itself so the variety of shops are somewhat restricted, but is about 30 minutes drive from larger shopping towns such as Gloucester and Bristol. Wotton-under-egde is surrounded by beautiful Cotswold countryside and the popular walking route The Cotswold Way running right through it.

Breakfast was generous and delicious and served in a beautiful breakfast room. Local produce is used where possible and this included fabulous homemade jams and marmalade. The lounge was also a great place to sit and enjoy coffee. There are beautiful alcoves in the lounge and the house has been restored to a very high standard. The original staircase and doors remain adding to the wonderful character of the place.

We stayed in a small double bedroom which was very warm and cosy. A television and tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The bathroom too was spotless and modern in design.

As well as the bed and breakfast accommodation there is separate self-catering accommodation.

Carlton House has everything we wished for and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wishing to explore the Cotswolds. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: zeker eens proberen
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews