We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of West Lodge - H201

East and West Lodge stand at the entrance to a country estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East and West Lodge stand at the entrance to a country estate
French windows lead out to a large lawned garden A welcoming, open log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
East and West Lodge stand at the entrance to a country estate
French windows lead out to a large lawned garden
A welcoming, open log fire
Dining and sitting areas
Dining and sitting areas
Guests can be assured of a warm welcome
Dining and fitted kitchen areas
The fitted kitchen
A comprehensive welcome hamper awaits
The bedroom has linked beds, offering a choice of 6ft double or twin beds
The double bedroom
The double bedroom
The double bedroom
The bathroom
The bathroom has a separate shower above the bath
West Lodge
The Hampshire lanes around Rockbourne are great for cycling
The large, lawned garden catches the evening sun
The large, lawned garden
A New Forest watering hole
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SenorChar...
Javea, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a charming lodge, you only have to look at the outside when you arrive to know that all will be well. It has been beautifully renovated with every need seemingly catered for, a very comfortable bed that you don't want to leave, great bathroom and kitchen with plenty of room everywhere. Laura is helpful and friendly, great pub nearby with very good food, Fordingbridge a few minutes away with a supermarket and The George, another good pub, on the river.
As we live in Spain, the refuse system completely threw us but it didn't seem to matter. Would have preferred 2 armchairs instead of a sofa but looking at the guest book, others preferred a sofa. Can't please everyone. Very good wifi unlike other places where we have stayed. Unfortunately no mobile phone signal but that seems to be the norm in the UK.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bed
Liked least: Sofa, but a purely personal preference
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for your helpful comments about West Lodge. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay in Rockbourne and will be back soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way <3”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This little cottage is a peace of heaven! Everything we could want or need was there waiting for us, making our holiday as relaxing as it could ever be.
The location was fab for days out into the forest, with the secluded garden meaning evenings in with a glass of wine were also luxury.
Couldn't have asked for anything more, thank you Laura.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious comfy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks for your positive comments. We're glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay at West Lodge. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark a
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were blown away by the setting and accommodation offered by the East Lodge (mirror image of West Lodge). It is simple but luxurious villa with a very high standard of finish. the bathroom well appointed ,spacious / comfortable and living room with an open fire perfect for nights in
The small village is a perfect setting with a great gastro pub (Rose & Thistle) and multiple walks around. It is close enough to the New Forest to visit everyday but different enough to feel a different country.
We didn't tell the owners we were going staying for our honeymoon and as soon as they knew they hand delivered a generous welcome pack.

Simply we will be back..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments about East Lodge. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to come back soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish F
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant and homely - all you need with added extras”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visited the New Forest with my sister and brother in law who have been staying at the East Lodge for some nine years now. West Lodge is 95% a mirror image of the East Lodge - the owners have tastefully redecorated since the photos on this website were displayed. The Lodges are perfect for a getaway from it all break - set within the heart of the New Forest they are an idyllic hideaway. They are decorated to a high standard and have underfloor heating throughout. On arrival, we found a welcome card and homemade scones and jam - a very nice thought and very enjoyable.
There are folders with a host of information for those wanting to explore the area - many great walks on your doorstep and The Rose & Thistle pub just down the road serves exquisite pub food (the steak and kidney suet pudding is a must try - you won't be disappointed).
Cable TV, books and DVD's are all available and there is a washing machine, dishwasher and very well equipped kitchen - I can't think of anything that we needed that wasn't there.
It really felt like home and we look forward to a return visit.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating, decor and a nice big bath!
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2014
Thank you for your very helpful and positive comments, which we heartily endorse. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. The photos for both lodges were updated last autumn so should reflect the recent re-decoration. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$151
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing