We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Maritime Club
Nearby Hotels
Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset House Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
216
338
185
54
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
338
185
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunwharf quaysrefurbished roomsmall poolnaval baselimited parkingshort walkleisure facilitiesgun wharfhms victorybuffet stylesingle roomparking spacespinnaker towershopping centrevisiting portsmouthfull englishone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked hotel due to location to Gun Wharf & was nearer than i thought so excellent.
the staff were amazing from Reception, the Bar & the lady at breakfast was a breath of fresh air. i stay away every week with work & do meet some miserable people in hotels
but this was an absolute pleasure to stay & will certainly stay again when in the area
only negative thing was the bedroom needs a refit but wasnt in there long so not a priority for me ...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I recently ran a conference here for 25 delegates. Service was first class at all levels and the catering could not be faulted. The reception areas included a well maintained domed foyer and galleries in an unusual 'Festival of Britain' style. Primarily a naval charity but now welcoming a wide clientele, the Club has real character, quite unlike a standard commercial hotel. Facilities 'below decks' included a skittles alley. The location, two minutes walk from the Historic Dockyard, could not be better. Our superior double room, refurbished and with a new bathroom, enjoyed views over the Dockyard. It was also quiet with no intrusive air- conditioning noise. It had the luxury of windows that could be opened to admit fresh air. This more than made up for the small but efficient lift and the maze of corridors. Overall excellent value for money. We have already booked our next visit.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms are likely to have views of the harbour and historic ships.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken10662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. This hotel is well located with a very short walk to Gunwharf and the Dockyard museums. It is on a main road but rooms at back were quiet with no traffic noise. There is limited parking so if you are not lucky enough to get a space then you will need to use a pay car park opposite although I think you get a discount. The decor in main areas is a little shabby in places but being worked on. Very clean with attentive staff who clearly work hard to make sure it is kept clean. Room was fine, again very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, reasonably priced and all you can eat buffet. Would recommend this hotel for location, staff and price

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chris501964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times for its close proximity to events connected with my sons return from deployment with the royal navy, and before when he passed out in phase 2. Fab location. Clean rooms and nice staff. Loveley history to the hotel too.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cogghenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed as part of a group using the hotel for a society conference. Refurb was underway but didn't affect our stay. We had one of the weekends with snow.

Limited free parking available at front of hotel but if you move during the day you may lose your space. Couldn't be more convenient for the Naval Dockyard. No traffic noise to disturb us. Room was very good although not spacious - no mini bar, fridge or iron/ ironing board, Staff were excellent - very helpful and friendly. Food was very good and very generous portions. Bar has very good prices too. This was the Naval Club but does welcome all visitors.Thoroughly recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews