We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful landlord”
Review of The Florence Arms

The Florence Arms
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 08/12
20:00
Ranked #32 of 677 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Gastro Pub - stylish bar area with relaxing airy restaurant attached.
Reviewed 12 October 2021 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch here with my friends. The landlord was very patient with changing orders and did so in a cheerful manner.
The food was excellent I had the cauliflower steak perfect.
I would go again for lunch.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Adventure58748868312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceArms, General Manager at The Florence Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. It was a pleasure to serve your table, I was pleased to see that you struggled between dishes as it reaffirms that our menu is full of choice.

The Florence Arms looks forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent food and great service. Lovely decor and atmosphere
We were a group of eight friends and all of us had very good meals and chilled wine

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank annpurdy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceArms, General Manager at The Florence Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. The chefs were happy to read that you all enjoyed your meals. Your group were so much fun and we all enjoyed our afternoon as much as your party did.

We hope that next time you are in the area you will pay us another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

Although billed as a gastro pub we found the food to be mediocre. The goats cheese tart was more of a bruschetta which was so hard it was impossible to cut. Mozzarella and tomato salad swimming in liquid. Whitebait and quesadillas were fine and pork medallions were ok too. Baklava was clearly burnt. On a positive the service was good - efficient and cheerful.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceArms, General Manager at The Florence Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Thank you for leaving us a review. Please except my apologies that our food didn't meet our usual very high standards. We do check back at the table on every course so its disappointing that these issues weren't raised at the time as it would have given us a chance to do something about it rather than you leaving disappointed. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact me on 02392007888 or info@theflorencearmssouthsea.co.uk

We do hope that one day you will return and have a better experience.

Ronnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

We had just a fabulous time here celebrating my dad's special birthday, the food was fantastic but the manager Ronnie was so friendly and kind to my family it really made it special for my dad.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceArms, General Manager at The Florence Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

thank you very much for this amazing review. Ronnie was so happy he made your dads day so special. we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2021

Absolutely fantastic food and a great atmosphere from.a friendly team. Especially Ronnie who was very welcoming and funny..

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Uberfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceArms, General Manager at The Florence Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

thank you for your lovely review. Ronnie was really pleased to read this review. we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Florence Arms also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Florence Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.