We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere at The Rockstone.”
Review of The Rockstone

The Rockstone
Ranked #22 of 881 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Craft beer, real ale and cider. 200+ spirits. Best Gourmet burgers in Southampton, Street food. Vegan and gluten free wizardry. 2 beer gardens. Monthly events & tap takeovers. 2 for £22 Burger Night every Monday and Tuesday 17.00 to 21.30. Student Wednesdays every Wednesday. Rock the Stone drink deals and alternative / rock / metal music Friday and Saturday 21.00 till late. Food is served between 12.00-21.30 Mon-Sat, 12.00-21.00 Sun. Booking is advised, especially at weekends and match days. Well behaved dogs are welcome at The Rockstone provided they are kept on a lead and off the furniture. Children and under-18s welcome 12.00-20.00 and later provided they are with an adult. Please contact us if you have any special dietary requirements or other queries as we are happy to accommodate your requests.
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Visited for first time this evening and will be going back regularly. Busy place so pays to book or, like us - passing trade - you may have your meal at the bar. Food was first class. Rump steak medium rare cooked perfectly with fries, salad etc. Can't recall having better. Tried a bit of partner's burger which was also top quality - lean and very tasty. cannot fault the food. Had some mulled cider to accompany which was ideal for a cold evening. They also have a staggering range of craft and other ales and ciders and other alcoholic rarities. Staff are welcoming and positive - adding to the warm atmosphere. I am advised they even have live music here when its not as busy and room then allows. Meanwhile the soundtrack accompanying the meal included Guns and Roses, Black Sabbath and Tom Petty.....so I can wait. I really am very impressed. If you are in Southampton I advise you to check it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolo H, General Manager at The Rockstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Mike Z,

Many thanks for you review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Bolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This is a returning review for the Rockstone. We booked at table for the four of us which was ready for us upon our arrival. We were able to our table and the menus brought over.

The burgers are generally movie themed and have a variety of toppings. Drinks wise there is a huge selection of spirits and both craft and real ales on offer as well as usual bottled beers and wine.

The burgers were massive and good. Certainly homemade patties. The burger with the black garlic mayo was commented to be a bit sickly by the end. Three cheeses burger could have been more cheesy. We can't comment on desserts as we were all way too full to even contemplate ordering one.

The service was pleasant and reasonably attentive.

Good local pub which does epic burgers. What's not to like. We will certainly be going again.

Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolo H, General Manager at The Rockstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Polo_and_Marco,

Many thanks for you review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Bolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Whilst the food was delicious, inventive and plentiful, the food and whole experience was spoiled by seating 7 people around a table that would have fitted 5 at a push :(
One diner nearly ended up with his dinner in his lap, all plates were balanced precariously half on and half off the table and thank goodness we were at a window seat and able to put drinks etc on the window sill.
Poor, money grabbing and leaves a bad taste in the mouth on what should have been a delicious experience with friends.
I go out, not only to eat but to enjoy the ambiance and spend time with friends, not worry about elbow room and plates tipping.
Very disappointed, I had heard good reviews

1  Thank Jaclyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolo H, General Manager at The Rockstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Hi Jaclyn G,

It is really awkward and disappointing when a customer leaves a negative review and doesn't tell the full truth about their experience.

Your party called at the last minute to add a seventh person to your booking of six people.

My staff informed you that the space you had booked was for six people and adding a seventh person to the table would be a 'tight squeeze'. You agreed to this and said that you understood.

When you arrived, one of your party was shown around the pub by Ashleigh so you could confirm that there were no vacant, unbooked tables that we could move you to. Ashleigh apologised about the tight squeeze and even offered you free desserts - when we really had no reason to offer these. Ashleigh reports that you gave her good feedback at the time and were even having a nice chat with her when you were waiting for a taxi outside later in the evening.

So why have you now left this one star review of your experience?

A no point were we 'money grabbing'. Our booking system does not allow more than the maximum amount of people to be booked onto any table. We do not cram people in. We were actually providing good service by helping to manage your requirements. Many restaurants would have simply refused your request to add an extra person onto your booking.

I did message you asking as much, but as is usually the case with spurious, hastily written and angry reviews, you've done a 'hit and run' and avoided responding to me like a good person, which is why I have left this honest assessment of your review.

Regards,

Bolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

After much excitement about finally eating in the Rockstone we were left with a disappointing memory. The food was average, and at a strong price of £17 for a chicken burger and sweet potato fries?! I expected the best quality. My chicken was cold and dry and there was practically zero service. My advice would to be: don't go on a weekend, don't order chicken and be prepared to pay for overpriced food. Luckily they didn't charge me for my food but it massively spoiled our evening. (Also out table booking was 15 mins late!)

2  Thank Bryony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolo H, General Manager at The Rockstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Bryony C,

Many thanks for you review, we apologies for any issues you experienced. We did offer you a replacement meal as well as a full refund, but you declined the former, which is a shame.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Bolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

lumberjack portions great food old world pub atmosphere fun night out.very good range of craft beer and cider

Thank frampotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolo H, General Manager at The Rockstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi frampotron,

Many thanks for you review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Bolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rockstone also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Rockstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing