We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here for just one night in Oct 2012. Charming, old style hotel. Nothing to flashy but very comfortable. Creaking floors etc just add to the charm. Didn't eat in restaurant but looked like a nice place for a meal.

Staff very helpful. Great location. Good value. No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesLo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming back to the Mercure Southampton Cente Dolphin Hotel soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,190 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

I have only stayed one night in the Mercure Dolphin hotel but I have really liked the stay. I think the staff deserves top mark: very friendly and happy to help. Thumbs up to the friendly lady at the reception desk!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xav_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I will pass on your kind words to the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stay here on Sat 27th Oct. Check in good staff really helpful. The room clean well presented and modern. The buffet style breakfast included in the room rate was also excellent, with freshly cooked eggs and bacon regularly replaced.
The location is also good with a 2 minute pleasant walk to the town centre. Will definately go back there again next time I'm in Southampton. There's also parking on site.

Room Tip: There was talk of rooms facing the pedestrian area being noisy, but I stayed there on a Saturday nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of days at the Dolphin with my kids during half term as a base to meet up with family. I can give the staff here top marks, they bent over backwards to help us & made our stay an exceptional one. They really are the most friendly, helpful team you can imagine & they all work as one team, from the receptionists, waiters & waitresses, kitchen staff, housekeeping staff & management, we encountered them all & they all deserve a great big Thankyou from us! Thankyou all at the Dolphin!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to read your kind comments about the team and the high level of service you received and I will of course ensure this feedback is communicated to the team.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel on your next trip to the city.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this quirky, old hotel and would have given a higher rating had it not been for the fact on the Saturday night after a good night out there was no heating, it was freezing. When we checked out the receptionist mentioned that there was a heating issue during the night but made zero effort to offer a discount for this. I am not in the habit of seeking discounts when not happy I just don't return to that hotel......let down.

The hotel is well placed for the High street and all that Southampton has to offer such as pubs clubs and restaurants

Parking signage at the hotel needs to improve so you can find the way in but no panic there is a well signed NCP car park where we ended up and had no issues all weekend

Service at the hotel was good but personally think a little pricey bearing in mind you can walk 2 mins and get the same beer cheaper

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordskully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was pleased to read overall you enjoyed your stay with us and my sincere aplogies for the fact you were effected by the mechanical problems we experienced on Saturday evening.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,764 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,224 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
999 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: RM296 - RM703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing