We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian!”
Review of Soleto

Soleto
Ranked #14 of 807 Restaurants in Southampton
Description: ITALIAN RESTAURANT MEETS BISTRO STYLE DINING Soleto is based in the theatre district of Southampton, only a stones throw away from the Mayflower Theatre in Commercial Road. Offering a great selection of Italian and Bistro dishes, Soleto is perfect for any occasion. Try dishes like Gamberone: Pan fried tiger prawns with garlic, white wine,butter, lemon and cherry tomato served on crostini or Fegato Veneziana: Calves liver served with mashed potato and vegetables. red wine, onion, rosemary and pancetta sauce. We wont dissapoint.
Restaurant details
Description: ITALIAN RESTAURANT MEETS BISTRO STYLE DINING Soleto is based in the theatre district of Southampton, only a stones throw away from the Mayflower Theatre in Commercial Road. Offering a great selection of Italian and Bistro dishes, Soleto is perfect for any occasion. Try dishes like Gamberone: Pan fried tiger prawns with garlic, white wine,butter, lemon and cherry tomato served on crostini or Fegato Veneziana: Calves liver served with mashed potato and vegetables. red wine, onion, rosemary and pancetta sauce. We wont dissapoint.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best Italian food I have tasted in years. Everything was so fresh and delicious. We had the scallops to start, seafood linguine and seabass for mains. Our boy had a pizza - he demolished it, enough said. After saying we weren’t that hungry, we had to order dessert too!

The food was the star of the show but service was warm and friendly. Excellent all around, can’t praise it high enough!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank ssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely ambiance, friendly host who couldn't do enough for us.
Great Italian seafood.

Had the Antipasto platter to split. Delicious meats and breads, only complaint would be we could have been served with a very small serving of olive oil. But this was provided on request.

We both had seafood pasta and was excellent.
My wife was especially happy with the generous parmesan toppings.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CmdrLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

We visited just before restrictions on eating inside were lifted. The outdoor space is very limited at Soleto, but they made the most of it.

We chose Soleto based on the many excellent reviews and the menu posted on their website. We were not disappointed with the food but, at the time we visited, the prices charged were higher than those on the website (£2 more on each of our main courses). Drink prices also appeared to be a bit on the high side.

The service was very good.

We were only visiting Southampton for the day so we are unlikely to go back to Soleto. However, for locals and those visiting The Mayflower theatre, which is about 50 yards away, it would be a good choice.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

honestly one of the best restaurants my other half and I have been too. Its a 30-40 min drive for us to get to but worth it. The food is amazing quality, fresh and there is plenty of it! the Staff are really friendly and helpful with recommendations too! Whenever we go to Southampton we make sure to go to Soleto!!!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 399jasminek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We walked past and the smells left us salivating - the best decision we ever made - I am South African (the daughter of a cattle farmer) I know my steaks well.... Soleto does the most perfectly prepared Tomahawk Steak I have ever had. We settled for the house red, a silky, refreshing blend from their homeland! The chef got everything 100% spot on, from the butter scollops, to the steaks, to the perfectly flavoured & oiled mixed roast veg. Outdoor heating just sets the scene for cosy night out. The decor is intimate with a hint of classic Edwardian Italy - Loved it - Thank you again - will def be back!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janebD3501JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soleto also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Soleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.