We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Winchester(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Alfred(Winchester)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Running Horse(Winchester)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cricketers Inn(Winchester)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hannah's(Winchester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Winchester Lodges(Winchester)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
11
13
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
13
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsservice stationgreat stopovermotorway servicescosta coffeeservice areafree wifitea coffee facilitiesbudget hotelcomfortable stayroom was cleansouthboundportsmouthreceptionistsoapbathpubbed
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I have long been a fan of the twin facilities on the A34 service area. Great value for money; spacious, clean and comfortable rooms, plumbing that works. A nice desk area to work from, and free Wi-Fi. Still all there. But no more. Enough is enough.

I can put up with the moth-eaten curtains. I can put up with the fact that reception staff refuse to volunteer the measly perks of a bottle of water and a chocolate bar that my reward club membership entitles me to on arrival – assuming that they have the stock available.

What I find increasingly hard to come to terms with is the increasingly useless heating. It was 12°c outside when I came in. On full blast, the heating (a radiator) is struggling to keep the room at 21°c – a task made harder because the house keeper feels it’s her right to set the thermostat to a lower temperature that she is happy with when I’m out in the day. Not the first time this has happened here, and totally unacceptable: I’m paying to stay – I decide how warm the room is.

And then there’s the Wi-Fi. It has never been fast, but it has been adequate, just about. No longer. Interminable delays, takes half a lifetime to load a page, just awful.

An otherwise great budget hotel being ruined by a penny-pinching, lack-lustre management.

In fact, all in all, so bad I'm leaving two nights early to go somewhere warm.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, especially if you want to be warm.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celso G, General Manager at Days Inn Sutton Scotney South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Devadude,

Thank you for your review.

Best wishes,
Celso Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Although there was snow we had a very warm welcome at Sutton Scotney South. the room was clean and very comfortable, I wish the Days Inn group could find a different food outlet to link up to as we do not like living on burger all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank terrypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celso G, General Manager at Days Inn Sutton Scotney South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Terry,

thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon.

Best wishes,
Celso Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We booked the hotel as we had been invited to a party nearby and as we live to far to go home again after the party needed somewhere to stay, the hotel was very clean and the room was lovely very spacious and there was room for 4 people. The double bed was hypnos bed , there was bed settee and another bed settee the bathroom was great and the shower was brill. There was a kettle and tea and coffee etc. the hotel does not have a restaurant but you can by a voucher to buy food if you want, there is a vending machine with sweets and drinks in it but a bit expensive. The staff were great we needed a taxi to the pub we were going and the bloke on the reception rang for us and we even waited outside in the cold and came in and told us when the taxi came which was great. we will be booking the hotel again.

Room Tip: all rooms are on a lower floor which is good for disabled people or wheelchair users
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celso G, Manager at Days Inn Sutton Scotney South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Mary,

thank you very much for your review.

We hope to see you soon

Best wishes,

Celso Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed with our dog for a brief overnight stay to break the journey from Portsmouth to Scotland, having got the afternoon boat from Le Havre. We didnt realise we’d booked the South side Days Inn, so were directed politely by reception on the North side Days Inn to cross the road via a back way. The receptionist at the South side was very welcoming, especially to the dog, and we spent an uneventful quiet night. The Hotel is nothing special but does the job- it is a bit dated and less than pristine, but clean enough and we had no specific complaints. In the morning I took the dog for his morning run out of the hotel area and towards some houses which line a largish road just outside the complex. There’s a wide green verge and a tarmac footpath beside it which was perfectly adequate for a 20-25 minute run on the lead.

Room Tip: Ground floor near the exit is best for staying with the dog
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 269traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celso G, General Manager at Days Inn Sutton Scotney South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review.

We hope to see you again.
Best wishes,

Celso Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This motel was good for our 2-night stay for a funeral in the family in Crawley, nr Winchester. We needed to book quickly from France and found this Inn was the only with rooms available for our dates.
We were given a warm welcome at reception and allowed to settle in before the stated booking in time which was a bonus as we were tired after our journey. We booked 2 double rooms which were comfortable with all the listed amenities. Only one comment to make is that the beds are extremely high! Nevertheless, once you got into bed, it was really comfortable and we were all able to have a good sleep each night. Very good value - Before we arrived, we were apprehensive about staying at a motorway services but we need not have worried as the position of the Inn was set well back and had it's own exclusive parking bays near the Inn.
There were shops and a couple of places to have a meal. Because of the nature of our trip, we did not need to eat out so to speak as we were at our family's house for the funeral on the day and the day after before leaving for home. All-in-all, a nice, quiet, comfortable stay each night.

Room Tip: all looks good and all ground level
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norafrance2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celso G, General Manager at Days Inn Sutton Scotney South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Nora,

thank you for your review.

Best wishes,

Celso Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews