We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Winchester(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The King Alfred(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Running Horse(Winchester)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cricketers Inn(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
288
196
136
83
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
288
196
136
83
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomchateaubriandsunday lunchwine listroll top bathcoffee machinelovely hotelmini barlarge roomcar parkcooked breakfastfull englisha lovely staystayed for one nighthigh streetyogurthdv
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Love the Du Vin for meals so this review isn't about the restaurant. However, we decided to go to their cocktail bar after dinner elsewhere. It was disappointing to say the least.

The cocktails themselves are expensive but you wouldn't mind that if they were of good quality and at least well presented. With cocktails you expect style and presentation, none of that, it was "mix em and dump em" on the table, not even a coaster/mat to put them on. They had even run out of straws (the manager forgot to order them apparently?
Sadly, they didn't taste all that good either as some of the mixes weren't quite right - maybe a trainee on the bar? but with three of them there you would expect better.

Dissapointing - We will be giving the cocktail bar a miss from now on

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mal A,

Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry that we did not get things quite right on this occasion. Hotel du Vin took the decision early last month to not purchase plastic straw, to do our bit to reduce the carbon foot print. Sadly this has been popular with in the hospitality industry and paper straws were very popular and the manufactures could not cope with the demand. I am pleased to say we have plenty of paper straws now at our disposal.

The team in the bar are fairly new , so I will be feeding your comments back to the bar manager to ensure he is focused on the training areas and support the team require. Thank you again for your valueable feedback.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Very disappointed in there response to a golden Wedding Anniversary booking, compare to Lainston House, in Sparsholt near Winchester. I got an automated response, by email. I explained would they please, promptly reply, so that this special occasion booking could be considered 5 days later still no response. We are a party of ten local people, whom I would have thought , would be good future business. Lainston house replied within 48 hours in a very professional manner.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear john b,

Thank you for your review, as discussed we are truly sorry that it took us so long to respond to your enquiry, sadly the events office was unmanned over the Easter period. However I am really pleased we were able to resolve the matter and we look forward to welcoming your party to Hotel du Vin Winchester to celebrate your Golden Wedding Anniversary later this month.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed here on Maundy Thursday. Good location within a short walk to the city centre and tourist attractions. There was parking on site at the back of the hotel. Staff were courteous and on hand to assist. Had a large room which was clean with good décor. There was a cast iron bath located at the end of the bed. The weather was cold and wet so it was nice treat to relax in it after walking around the city. Would say that the shower in the bathroom could do with a bit of an overall but was in working order. Had dinner in the restaurant. The food was good without being exceptional but was value for money for what we paid. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marceljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Marceljay,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and a relaxing soak in the free standing roll top bath is a must on a cold wet day.

We look forward to seeing back in Winchester really soon.

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Myself and my partner visited Hotel Du Vin for a last minute weekend away over Easter. What a lovely little hotel. You would never know it was a chain. It has real character. The staff are absolutely lovely. They really are a credit to the hotel, especially the bar manager, he was full of local recommendations of places to visit and see. I have never been to a hotel where they have been so friendly and chatty. We stayed in one of the garden rooms. It was full of character and the bath was HUGE! Lots of room and and the mini bar was a sight to behold. Although you don't need the mini bar with a bistro bar in the hotel, less than 30 seconds walk away. The bar has plenty of drinks to choose from and a good selection of wines, cocktails and spirits. It's comfy and cosy and has a lovely little log fire, but unlike some pubs with fires it doesn't smell smokey. The dog was allowed in the Bar but not the Bistro, we were told they were more than happy to serve food in the bar if we wanted to keep the dog with us.

This hotel has a beautiful courtyard garden, just a shame the weather was a bit rubbish. I noticed they had patio heaters, I imagine when its a little warmer it would be a wonderful place to spend an evening.

We ate in the hotel on the Friday evening, the food was lovely and very reasonable. The only slight niggle was annoying music playing in the background, it really doesn't need it, the Bar and Bistro have enough character without it. There are plenty of interesting things on the wall if your date is a little boring!! (mine wasn't).

I'm a little surprised this hotel is listed for business and not under romantic, it is definitely suitable for both. So close to the City centre and it has definitely made me want to try other Hotel Du Vins. A really nice touch,when we arrived at our room, they had provided a dog bed and bowl. It is not your run of the mill city centre hotel. Worth every penny.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Fee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Fee B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it is very much appreciated, the team work so hard so it is lovely when they get a personal mention for all their efforts. Dan the Bar Manager will be rewarded for his efforts on this occasion.

I am looking into the current play list.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Winchester and needed somewhere to stay. The Hotel Du Vin came up trumps. The room was spacious, well equipped, comfortable bed and wet room & toilet stocked up with quality gels and bathrobes.
Had dinner at the Bistro. Was greeted & shown to our table by Ali Ali. He recommended a lovely bottle of wine, Primitivo..... well recommended. Dinner was divine, service was attentive but not intrusive. All in all, a very pleasant visit. Will visit again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kawabungga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kawabungga,

Thank you for your recent review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Ali Ali was made up that his name appeared in a review and he will be rewarded accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews