We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little course”

Hereford Racecourse
Ranked #22 of 57 things to do in Hereford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hereford Racecourse stages competitive Jump racing between October and March, and hosts many additional events throughout the year. 20,000+ racegoers came through the gates in 2016/2017 with over 50,000+ visitors attending for public and private events ranging form Fireworks and Food Fairs to Weddings and conferences. The 2017/2018 season launches with the Reopening Anniversary Cider & Sausage Raceday on Tuesday 17th October and concludes on Tuesday 27th March with Irish Day. The racecourse sits just outside the City but within easy access, being just a few minutes away of Hereford Train Station.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We visited Hereford Racecourse on 27 March. We only used the owner trainer facilities. However, the staff we met where very helpful and professional. We had a little walk around the paddock etc and found the facilities to be very good. I would definitely visit the course again.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit on Irish Day (27th March) and look foreward to hopefully welcoming you back again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"race course"
in 4 reviews
"winning post"
in 2 reviews
"bridge restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"horses"
in 7 reviews
"races"
in 6 reviews
"racecourses"
in 3 reviews
"riding"
in 16 reviews
"track"
in 8 reviews
"facilities"
in 7 reviews
"viewing"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely time in Rusty Bridge box at Irish Racing day. Everything was brilliant. Great food great service and great racing

Thank billybear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

So glad this course has reopened. Such a good days racing. Nice compact course and the facilities were good. Staff friendly. Good to see a place like this getting a new lease of life and not closing down. Racing fans get there for a great day out. Try portway Inn for some where to stay.

1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for the feedback, glad you have enjoyed visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Massive Thank You for a wonderful day in Rusty Bridge Restaurant and racing. Weather all week against them the management and staff put on a beautiful day and the course looked stunning. Food drink and racing brilliant. See you next year Bill and Patsy

Thank billybear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The team were determined that 7 inches of snow was not going to prevent the raceday happening, thank you for acknowledging their hard work. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

It is fantastic to see the racecourse open again. For a small course it has an impressive view from all enclosures. It was nice to see that it had been given a lick of paint in the run up to being reopened.

A conscious effort seems to have been made to increase the prize money which will undoubtedly bring bigger and better fields. Presumably some of this money has been provided by local businesses lending their support. It's a shame then that the course doesn't seem to be reciprocating this by supporting local companies via their food and beverage offering.

As a county Herefordshire has some of the best cider, beer and meat producers in the country. It seems bizarre then that all that is on offer is poor quality food at exorbitant prices (even for a racecourse) and generic keg beers at almost a fiver a pint. We have regularly been visiting a nearby pub before the meetings as a convenient alternative.

I think there needs to be a serious rethink with regard to membership cost as frankly the numbers didn't add up and would have required attending every meeting which will be unrealistic for most people. Considering there are special offers on ticketing the membership would have been even less attractive.

It's early days and we will continue to support the course but a glance towards Ludlow shows what can be done at a small rural course.

Thank Taff1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your review, and the points you raise. Where possible we do try to support local business, for example we have a strong partnership with Herefordshire based Chase Vodka and where possible we also place our business contracts within the County, ie site cleaning, printing etc to support the local economy. We provide a Hereford Beef Stew in the Owners & Trainer to draw links with the locality and Hereford Beef and our menu in Rusty Bridge Restaurant will change throughout 2017/2018 to also reflect local produce where we can. Our Reopening Anniversary Cider & Sausage raceday on Tuesday 17th October also aims to showcase local cider and sausage producers. I hope that you will visit us again, and thanks again fore the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hereford Racecourse also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hereford Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;