We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless food!”

Ponsbourne Pods & Domes
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 15/06
20:00
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Hertford
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A very warm welcome to Ponsbourne Pods and Domes. Our pods are the ultimate in exclusive dining. Enjoy the stunning views whilst you indulge in our scrumptious cuisine and heavenly cocktails. The ultimate pod experience gets even better, you will be fully waitered on within the pod and be in the comfort of your own booking group as each pod is exclusive to you. With first class service and all the quintessentials in an informal, relaxed and stylish atmosphere, all of our pods have heating and comfortable seating.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place is nice but food was probably the worst Indian food I have ever tasted! Pricing it the way they did is shambles. If you’re going for the outside pod dining experience then it’s fine but if you’re expecting good decent food then I highly recommend you not to go here!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 321shahadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, General Manager at Ponsbourne Pods & Domes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your experience of our hospitality at Ponsbourne Pod. We are sorry that disappointed you and we could not fulfil your expectations on this occasion.

We would like to apologise again for all the inconveniences caused with food. Your review has been seen and acknowledges. We hope that we can fulfil your expectations the next time you dine with us.

Kindest regards,
Ponsbourne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Authentic Indian cuisine and friendly service. The pods are great fun and some allow you to play your own music through Bluetooth to the pods internal speakers!. Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank jomW7664SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to have a private gathering in a restaurant setting. We had a 12 places pod and enjoyed our family gathering.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Siven2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The garden pod kept us warm in the evening despite wind and rain outside. There a heater you can control, and you can vary how open the door is. You do smell a lot of curry afterwards because of the closed environment.

Friendly service, noone checked if our food was OK until the end, and big waits for a waiter. There was a 45 min. delay between starter and main course.

Some dishes were lukewarm on arrival, there a bit of a trek from the kitchen to the garden pods. No table heaters to keep table warm.

Main courses - Chicken Chatnaz was blander than a budget ready meal. Food was very ordinary, and at £18-22 price per dish, very disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Y5238SZnickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, General Manager at Ponsbourne Pods & Domes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your experience of our hospitality at Ponsbourne Pod. We are sorry that disappointed you and we could not fulfil your expectations on this occasion.

We would like to apologize that we left you with a negative overall experience of the restaurant as this is not indicative of our high standards at Ponsbourne pods.

We hope that your current experience will not deter you from re visiting us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ponsbourne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We looked forward to dining with an experience in the pods and also enjoy the surrounding landscape, in celebration of birthday of a member of the family but sadly and regrettably none of us enjoyed it.

The only thing good was the landscape. The pods ? ... OK, nothing amazing. The table is not clothed. It seats 4 and has a ceiling heater. The pods remain open and it does get very cold despite the heater in current windy weather.

The service? OK.... just OK. The waiter/attendants do not go out to really make you feel comfortable. They all appeared cold in the service too.

The food ? Absolutely pathetic ! We have a special diet and we exclude onion and garlic from our meals. Despite advance notification about our diet, we were offered only one item, dal (lentil). On speaking to one of the Managers, they agreed to cater Jeera Aloo , Dal and Rice to be served with Butter Roti. For starters, we had Paneer and Broccoli. The Paneer was coated with red tikka paste and absolutely tasteless whilst the Broccoli was raw, gently barbecued. The main course arrived almost cold. Portions are average though I would call them small. The Jeera Aloo was ok , the dal was tasteless and the rice was not properly cooked, slightly raw. It was supposed to be Pulao but received Cumin Rice. It was too grainy to eat. Sadly, it was indeed most appalling experience I have ever had dining out.

The Cost ? .... I gathered that the minimum cost to dine us £100 per pod. I was shocked to see that our bill came out to be £100 for the items listed above. It was indeed so disappointing that the food was not worth it. There wasn't any one single item that was perfect and to our taste.

What a waste of our time and money .

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Date of visit: May 2021
4  Thank Reviews-by-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P, General Manager at Ponsbourne Pods & Domes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your experience of our hospitality at Ponsbourne Pod. We are sorry that disappointed you and we could not fulfil your expectations on this occasion.

We would like to apologize that we left you with a negative overall experience of the restaurant as this is not indicative of our high standards at Ponsbourne pods.

We hope that your current experience will not deter you from re visiting us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ponsbourne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponsbourne Pods & Domes also viewed

Newgate Street, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Newgate Street, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Ponsbourne Pods & Domes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.