We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too sweet, no flavour...”
Review of The Alban

The Alban
Ranked #5 of 353 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established since 1984, we are a family run restaurant who continue to add to the British culinary landscape with traditional and home made Indian and Bengali food. We believe that whilst keeping to the old and traditional recipes, we will keep searching, evolving and perfecting innovative cooking techniques to bring you new and exciting mouth watering dishes. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a take away which took more than an hour to arrive and then was disappointed with the food after expecting a lot from reading all the reviews. Butter chicken and lamb tikka masala were sickly sweet with no flavour, and naan bread was too doughy. Definitely won’t be ordering from here again.

Thank bwade2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbanTeam, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wade,

Thank you for your order. We take all feedback seriously and like any business we endeavor to continuously improve.

The British Indian Kurmas & Butter Chickens are popular dishes and by characteristic are creamy and very sweet. It's not clear if you are new to Indian food or not used to the way our patrons prefer these dishes. I appreciate we all have individual tastes but I think you would have benefited from a different choice of dish. We hope you will give us another try.

All the best,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are extremely friendly and the service attentive but not overbearing.

I have been a few times with a business colleague and always enjoy it.

The menu has a broad selection and changing special dishes

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkshireRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbanTeam, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and review.

We hope you will continue to choose us for your evening out with friends, family and colleagues alike.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having had two great takeaways from the Alban in recent weeks, we most recently decided to take in the full eat in experience.

The hosts were once again so engaging and warm, making us feel really welcome and unrushed. They enjoyed discussing their menu (which in addition to the standard list of curries, has some really interesting special dishes), and when our chosen dishes arrived they once again matched the quality of our takeaway choices- wonderful succulent king prawns, a fantastic puri starter and fluffy light naan.

The biggest challenge we will have next time is whether to go back for the same dish or choose another to try- not a single dish has disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tex-From_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbanTeam, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Rich for trying our takeaways, then deciding to pop in and review.

We're pleased you enjoyed yourselves at The Alban. The team here work hard to get all aspects of the restaurant just right for our patrons. We are always over the moon when we see this has translated well as per this review. We do indeed have more options for you to try, but please do what feels right there's no wrong choice. We will work hard on our end to make sure you have a great evening.

See you soon,
Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have recently moved to the area and thought we'd try out this place.

The food was very Fresh, wasn't greasy and tasted absolutely delcious.

I had 'the ruby' with king prawns. The prawns were juicy and delicious.

We were surprised with how nice the food was. Proper decent restaurant. We'll be returning :)

Thank lyonsinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbanTeam, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Lyon for visiting The Alban and review above.

Welcome to St Albans. We're pleased you enjoyed The Ruby. We hope to impress you further in the near future.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here in the last few months. We have seen a few of our Indian restaurants close recently and I think this maybe one of the reasons why. It was really nice in every way. The food was excellent and I couldn’t fault it. The staff were really lovely. Their greens chillies are great to have as an accompaniment. I will be returning soon!!

2  Thank kkk7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbanTeam, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and recent visit.

We remain focused on our food and service to serve our patrons well. We try and keep innovating and adapting to the ever-changing culinary landscape. However we also try and create a balance between the classics and new exciting dishes which is underpinned by our confidence in Indian food developed over 30 years with The Alban. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy this.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alban also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Alban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing