We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
29
27
14
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
27
14
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english puboldest pubbeer gardennooks and cranniesroast beeflovely pubverulamium parkfantastic locationcooked to perfectionciderfarrbeamsstrugglesbritaincathedral
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely pub full of character and original features. It is located on a lovely setting at the edge of the park.

Their staff is friendly and they serve thé best rare roast beef on a Sunday.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank jillmoorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Walked past here on exploring Veralanium Park and decided to pop in for lunch on the way back. Looks a bit tatty on the outside but the inside is lovely with different bar and seating areas on different levels.

Extremely warm welcome by the publican who couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. Excellent choice of ales and traditional English pub food made on the premises, fresh to order and non the usual stuff that is bought in frozen to be reheated in the microwave. I had Cumberland sausage and mash and my husband chose the steak burger. Both arrived after a short wait, hot and scrumptious. I'm not a mash girl and prefer tatties and chips but these were the best sausage and mash you could ask for. Sausages made specially for the pub and were mouth-wateringly good. Husband's burger and chips was huge and didn't last long.

Highly recommended, don't walk past it, walk right through the door and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Visited yesterday it was busy with a lovely cozy feel. They say it's the oldest pub in the country. Not sure about that. The fire was burning creating a great atmosphere. Great beer and burgers. Staff very friendly. Will be back

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Caw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

NIce to stop off for a few pints of real ale nice selection of bitters and dark ale I did not try the food after the walk from the Verulamium Museum through the park to one of the oldest pubs in the country

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank keithhayward2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

For me I think the primary reason for me wanting to see this pub was that it is reportedly the oldest in England. I wasn't looking for dinner or snacks but just a couple of pints of beer in a place that has been around for nearly 900 years (the structure, at least). With that in mind, the place is fantastic. Small, warm, friendly, and busy. It was a great place to sit and relax after an afternoon of exploring St. Albans (both the cathedral and the town). The pub began to clear out a bit after 1830, so it was slow enough to speak to some of the staff who were more than happy to pass along tidbits of history about the location. If I'm in the area, it is a must for me to return.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews