We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a nice location and good menu”
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Ranked #30 of 378 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Inspired by French cuisine and Parisienne bistro style. Café Rouge is your local bistro to enjoy delicious food and gorgeous glass of wine.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The restaurant was amazing, the location is fantastic, service was really attentive and toilet facilities were plus,plus,plus!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C, General Manager at Cafe Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you Sarah for your lovely review.

Kate x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Surprise visit to this restaurant which I have never visited before.
I nice light and airy atmosphere in a Grade II listed building (was originally built for Sam Ryder as an exhibition hall for all his seeds & plants)
The seating is not too crowded meaning you are not listening to other tables conversations.
The menu is varied, with some great French selections alongside more traditional fare.
The service was very good & very friendly.
The only down point, which is very minor, is that some of the seating could do with re-upholstering.
All in all. although this was my first visit, it most certainly will not be my last!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C, General Manager at Cafe Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi Peter F
Thank you for your lovely review!
You'll be glad to know the upholsterer has been in last week and measured up so that we can have sparkly new booths soon.

All the best

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Booked a set menu meal using the Virgin Voucher Experience.

Booking etc was quite straight forward and done all online am- which saves messing about but ensure you bring the reference numbers from the different emails etc.

Service was excellent and we were moved to a better table by the staff without even asking based on their suggestion.

It was a three course set menu with good core choices.

Extra sides etc are paid for over and above the voucher.

Had a glass of Procesco as part of the experience. That was a nice drink.

Starters we had Camembert and the Soup both were very good.

Followed by beef bourginion and a roast chicken dish, with extra sides in the form of vegetables and potatoes.

A lovely generous dessert, Creme Brûlée.

The coffee and brandy which whilst extra were great as was the bottle of champagne but was great food and service.

Thoroughly recommend - even if just to see the architecture inside very Art Deco

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Fishcakes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C, General Manager at Cafe Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you Fishcakes2 for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Auto booking service was fab, menu was fab, service was fab, food was Devine and the building was beautiful and in a fab location opposite the cathedral

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C, General Manager at Cafe Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you so much Emily J.

We hope to see you again - please feel free to mention your review on here as we'd like to thank you in person.

Kate x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Once again a friend chose Cafe Rouge, and as usual it didn't disappoint! We both scored it 10 out of 10! We started with a couple of bread baskets, one with spicy hummus and one with pesto, we preferred the hummus. I also had some pate, delicious as ever! My duck confit was as good as ever and my friend enjoyed his 10oz rib eye. We finished with the cheese board, with delicious baby figs. We washed it down with an acceptable malbec. A great evening, in a lovely building and great service, as usual, from Gill! I'll be back soon!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellinTomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C, General Manager at Cafe Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you Tom!

It was lovely to see you again. Your friend's history stories made our night!

All the best,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing