We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful setting and a fantastic break away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
234 reviews
Bathroom sink
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 234 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel P
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful setting and a fantastic break away”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, the finishing touches of a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge and a small hamper with the necessities was a lovely surprise. The hot tub was an added bonus and much enjoyed. We only stayed for one night, but would recommend at least 3 to enjoy the Treehouse Hideaway

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbievin...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and i stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was just perfect. The treehouse was gorgeous with the lovely log fire and wonderful hot tub. Cant say anything else other than wonderful place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a fabulous holiday and the perfect romantic break.

I knew I had selected the right place when my girlfriend spent the first hour coo-ing and purring at the decor and the attention to detail. It was just the perfect blend of the rustic (ropes, beams and rough planking) coupled with the luxurious (leather sofa, sky TV, dishwasher, jacuzzi...not to mention the underfloor heating in the bathroom), with some really interesting design choices that made the place a delight to walk around. We were discovering new things to see even after several days.

And it was a great welcome to find a gift basket, fresh flowers, teabags and fresh milk in the fridge - with a bottle of bubbly to boot.

Rhea Window
The view through the trees was more interesting than I anticipated as we woke on our first morning to look out the window and see a pair of Rhea (a South American Ostrich) in the wildlife park adjacent.

Close to Whitstable and the coast (a must for restaurants specialising in fresh fish) and close to the beautiful city of Canterbury,

And a good pub almost next door.

When can we come back???

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the place is extraordinary
Liked least: nothing. It was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IckleWing...
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very unique place to stay. It's situated between Canterbury and Whitstable and very close to cycle networks which was very good for us.

Overlooks a farm/nature reserve which was nice. We could see ostrich from the decking and hear the animals.

Nice to have a hot tub added which was ready on arrival.

We received a lovely hamper and card on arrival too.

There is a single parking space allocated right next to the treehouse.

Some practicalities to note just to help your stay rather than complaints from us:

There was a small carton of milk in the fridge, prosecco and basics like salt, pepper. With the hamper this means you can have a drink on arrival (although we did go shopping first).

We had difficulty getting the shower to work even with instructions given. It was either extremely hot or freezing. This is difficult if staying for a week.

If you enjoy cooking I would take my own knives next time.

The fridge doesn't get very cold so we used the freezer to boost the wine first and moved it to the fridge after. Might be a problem on a hot day.

Travel light. If you are someone who takes lots of stuff for a weeks stay I would avoid this as there is very little cupboard and draw space. This isn't something that was a problem but would be if you took lots of cases of clothing.

I think they are building their own hot tub as there was building kit around under the treehouse (my husband had a tiny moan about this but it didn't interfere with anything we did). Our preference would be to keep a standard tub as they have now but be aware that this may not be the case in the future.

You are near an A road so there may be some car noise at peak times.

Overall we had a very nice stay. We were close to everything we needed and the experience was very different to a lodge or luxury hotel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our minimoon”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect little break for us following our wedding; the tree house was private, we were left to just enjoy the quiet and relax. The tree house is only 20 minutes drive to Whistable town centre which was lovely to wander around and the guide book in the tree house outlined some lovely places to visit.

We loved how unique and quirky the place was; "roots" growing through the rooms, wooden furniture and walls, heated floors and mod-cons hidden within such as a projection tv screen, free wifi and cooking facilities.

The furniture was comfortable (we would have bought the bed home with us if we could - it was like sleeping on a cloud!), the linen was clean and smelt fresh; we were provided with plenty of towels and a bathrobe each and the welcome basket was very well received.

The hot tub was perfectly heated and clean, we had our own parking space and could shut the gate and be in our own little bubble!

The wife and I will defiantly be booking another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Could get a fire started
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$253
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing