We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”

Clare Ellen Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Ellen Guest House
Ranked #27 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This is a typical B&B without any of the negative points that you often fear it will have. By that I mean awful aged deco, dodgy breakfast and a small cramped bedroom. This B&B is all the contrary.

The room was a nice and cosy spacious ensuite, the carpets and curtains as well as the linen looked very new, the breakfast offered a large choice of food, it is ideally located close to the city center with free parking which is always a bonus when staying in a city. The ensuite bathroom was spotless and there were ample toiletries and nice thick towels. And it is always a nice touch to find tea and coffee facilities in your room.

We definitely recommend this B&B and will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms doesn't have a bathroom (communal bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016

Me and my friend went to Canterbury for a short break and were looking for a simple, cheap room to spend a night in. We got much more than we expected. Hosts were very helpful and welcoming, room was spacious, spotless and with everything one could need - en-suite bathroom with free toiletries, towels, tea/coffee making things, hair-dryer, tv in the room and just a great atmosphere. Nice breakfast, all to your preferences. Definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

I have stayed here before, it's a good B&B , quite near the center of Canterbury (10 mins walk).
Clean rooms with television, good beds , coffee and tea available in room.
I had the single room , with separate showerroom and toilet, my son and daughter in law had a larger room next doo to mine.
Good breakfast and friendly , helpful proprietor

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The owner on arrival was extremely helpful, letting us put our bags in early so as to explore the town. He showed us how to get to town and supplied a map. Parking must be a nightmare in the town, so to find a hotel a short walk away and free parking is a big plus. The room was spotless with fridge, kettle, plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. A separate shower and toilet with free toiletries was great. Full English or anything you want for breakfast. Would certainly stay again. Thanks for a lovely break.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

The guesthouse is all what we hoped for on a short trip. Very friendly host + staf, easy to communicate with. Quite surroundings during the night. Excellent breakfast, with fresh fruit e.g. apples from own garden. Various restaurants nearby + easy walk to and from railway station and city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.9 km away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 73 in Canterbury
395 reviews
1.1 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#1 of 73 in Canterbury
840 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
203 reviews
11.2 km away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
27 reviews
2.7 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Ellen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Ellen Guest House

Address: 9 Victoria Road, Canterbury CT1 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: RM165 - RM466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Clare Ellen Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing