We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for family and friends”

Review of Blencowe Hall

Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
The yew lined sandstone walled formal gardens at Blencowe Hall planted with shrub roses
The formal Central Gardens at Blencowe Hall - yew hedges,climbing roses, sandstone terraces & a rill
Lady Jane Grey's sister married Henry de Blencowe and Lady Jane's motto is inscribed above the door
A view towards the South Tower showing the formal stone lined rill in the foreground of the gardens
The Central Range sandstone terraces, sustainable plantation teak garden furniture & two Weber BBQs
The South Tower Dining Room opens out to the sandstone terraces via the original rent in the wall
The South Tower Dining Room with french doors opening onto the sandstone terrace and the gardens
The Dining Room at Blencowe Hall, seating for at least 24 guests
A view out from the South Tower formal Dining Room through the sandstone rent to the fields beyond
The breakfasting kitchen with Aga, two dishwashers, two fridges, washing machine,tumble dryer
A view of the 4 oven Aga, next to this is a stainless gas hob and a full size electric oven
Blencowe Hall's breakfasting kitchen also has two Bosch dishwashers, two sinks and a Bosch WM & TD
The kitchen has two handmade solid oak tables and a children's play area built up into the inglenook
Blencowe Hall has solid oak floors throughout.  This view is from the Snug to the Billiards Room
A full size billiards table and equipment is provided for guest use
The Billiards Room looking towards the four foot thick masonry walls leading to the North Tower
The Billiards Room on the ground floor of Blencowe Hall with an antique table
The Billiards Room with full size snooker table and cast iron fire, equipment provided for guests
The first floor Solar Recepton room occupies the entire North Tower
The Solar reception room was the original retiring room for the ladies of Blencowe Hall
A traditional Cumberland oak sword cabinet in the North Tower Solar room on the first floor
The Solar Room at Blencowe Hall decorated for the holidays. Trees provided for guests from our farm
The first floor Solar Room has two cast iron fires and is one of 4 rooms licenced for civil weddings
The Solar Room has two massive stone fireplaces inset with two cast iron fires, one gas and one wood
The massive South Tower Master bedroom ensuite with a private Dressing Room, balcony and bathroom
The window in the South Tower Master Bedroom dressing room overlooking the orchard field
The South Tower Master Beroom with the juliette balcony doors closed.
Another view of the South Tower Master Bedroom suite which occupies the Tower's entire top floor
The South Tower Master Bedroom with the juliette balcony doors open looking to open fields and hills
Cromwell's Folly ensuite double bedroom occupies the entire first floor of the South Tower
Cromwell's Folly bedroom highlights the history of the Cromwellian forces slighting Blencowe Hall
Cromwell's Folly and the South Tower Master Bedroom both have private juliet balconies
Every window in Grade I listed Blencowe Hall has been preserved and protected in the shape found
The juliette balconies of the South Tower show the original masonry of the tower preserved as found
A quiet place for a read and relax in the bedrooms of Blencowe Hall
A king size bed in the West Range Cumberland Room which is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The silk lined curtains of the four poster bed in the ensuite Cumberland Room
The West Range Master Bedroom with an antique six foot super king bed
The West Range Master Bedroom has a glass divided raised bathing area & ensuite
A view of the glass divided raised ensuite bathroom and ensuite in the West Range Master Bedroom
The Greystoke Room in the West Range with antique 3 foot beds is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The North Tower Master Bedroom with an antique five foot four poster bed an ensuite bath & shower
The Lady Jane Grey Room at the top of the North Tower, ensuite with beds that can be singles or 6 ft
The ground floor ensuite Adam de Blencowe Room with beds that can be arranged as 6 foot or two twins
The ground foor Garden Bedroom with a double bed and private access to the North Tower walled garden
The walk in ensuite wet room of the ground floor Garden Room with a shower and glass screen
The Petteril Room (6ft) overlooks the formal Central Range gardens and has a massive stone fireplace
The Nortolk Room with beds that can be arranged as a king size bed or two single beds
Blencowe Hall in the early morning
A side view of Blencowe Hall showing the arched entrance to the cobbled central courtyard
The view out from the West range arched entrance to the Lake District Hills in the distance
Blencowe Hall is set within is own sandstone walled gardens and grounds
A view over nearby Greystoke Castle, about a mile up the road from Blencowe.  Grounds open for walks
Christine and Charlie on the first floor balcony of the South Tower, celebrating completion!!
The entire restoration team celebrating at the 'Wrap Party'
One of the carved stone window mullions at Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
Blencowe Hall in the wintertime
A view towards the South Tower rent said to be associated with Cromwellian cannon fire
A view of the weeping pear tree set into the sandstone terrace gardens
Blencowe Hall lit at night.  The coloured lights can be lit or not depending on guest preference
Blencowe Hall gardens in the springtime, part of the orchards in bloom
An aerial view of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall and the Grade II listed cottages in its grounds
An aerial view of Blecowe Hall and its surrounding gardens
Overview
Villa -
12 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony P
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent venue for family and friends”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend stay recently (our second) for my 65th birthday celebration and really enjoyed it. On the Saturday evening we had entertainment and a lovely buffet meal provided by Lynn Hilditch catering recommended by Jilly. Christine couldn't have been more helpful with requests for cots and high chairs and permission to leave our caravan on the car park to continue our holiday after Blencowe. An excellent venue in a fantastic location.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed another wonderful weekend at Blencowe Hall celebrating your 65th Birthday. Your comments are much appreciated by us and our team and I will also pass them onto Lynn. We are always happy to help with our guests requests were possible and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We will be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates again in the future either at Blencowe Hall or any of our other cottages. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip or family get together. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & JIlly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynis W
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a magical place”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was my 2nd stay at this truly amazing place. Two years ago I hire Blencowe Hall to celebrate my 60th birthday with family and friends, we had a wonderful time on both occasions. Everywhere was beautifully furnished with antique furniture in keeping with the "castle" but with all the modern facilities done to a very high standard. The kitchens had everything you could ever need, the sitting areas cosy and warm, ideal for anyone wanting a quiet moments, the library great for an evenings entertainment, the dining room idea for celebrating, and they had even thought of the children with a box of toys, not that they were needed with all the nooks and crannies to explore. My grandchildren now call it Grandmas castle and we are all looking forward to my 65th birthday when I will have a good excuse to return. If you have the opportunity to stay you would have an unforgettable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi thank you very much indeed for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay at Blencowe Hall, It's great to hear that Grandma's castle is as fun for the youngest members of your party as for the grown ups!! We would be delighted to welcome you back for your 65th birthday :) Thank you again for choosing to celebrate your birthday weekend at Blencowe Hall. Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliangb2...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best self-catering accommodation in Northern England ?”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thirty two members of my family representing three generations gathered at Blencowe Hall to celebrate my birthday. We also rented the adjacent properties of Cazenovia and Riverain because of the size of the party. Eveyone was enchanted with the properties and the quality of the accommodation.
I cannot recommend this see properties too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb location just a few minutes from the Lake District National Park
Liked least: Liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi, It's great to hear that you and your family had a super reunion and holiday at Blencowe Hall. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With all our best wishes for your birthday again! Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cumberland Room - Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having read the reviews my wife and I eagerly anticipated our stay at the Hall for my relative's birthday weekend.
When we arrived we were allocated the Cumberland Room.
We found the room dark and dingy.
The four poster bed was located directly below the light fitting which meant the light was blocked out by the canopy on the bed.
The bedroom furniture was old and shabby - the wardrobe door didn't shut properly without it being forced.
The chest of drawers had a number of drawers that were stuck shut and the silvering was missing from the mirror in a number of places.
The windows creaked and were difficult to open.
The wallpaper was peeling off the walls of one of the window openings.
There was no TV in the room.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Blencowe Hall and for providing this feedback regarding the Cumberland Room. In keeping with its status as a Grade I listed building dating back to the 1400s, the Hall is furnished with antique furniture throughout and this is subject to the usual foibles of furniture of this age. We are sorry to hear that your experience in The Cumberland Room was disappointing and we will ask our maintenance team to check and repair the specific items you have highlighted. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely first class large manor House in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a birthday celebration for a large family group and had the most amazing time. The age range was from 2 years---75 years. Blencowe Hall is absolutely perfect there was room for everyone to be together to sit or to eat. Also rooms to get away from each other !
It has been renovated to a very high standard. All the bedrooms are extremely tastefully decorated and comfortable. The children had a wonderful time playing in the grounds.
An activity centre nearby kept us all occupied one afternoon and another in the nearby town of Keswick. I cannot recommend it highly enough for any event.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your time at Blencowe Hall and thank you also for your kind comments they are always appreciated and we agree it is a perfect place for all ages to come together. It's great that you were able to get out and about in nearby Keswick and enjoy the activities at the centre. We would be thrilled to welcome you all again please get in touch next time you are planning a get together. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,381
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing