We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara S
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Dwarf Studio is perfectly placed in the centre of Ambleside. Excellent kitchen diner, bedsitting room and bathroom. We loved being able to come and go whenever we wanted. Brilliant starting point for plenty of good walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review Sara, it is really appreciated. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dwarf Hall Cottage. Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Cha...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We found this one level studio clean and well presented just a 5 minute walk from Ambleside town centre. Parking space at the rear was a bonus.
We were unfortunate only in that it rained all week. The heating system including the bath/shower room was easy to use and effective. The double bed was firm but comfortable. The TV covered Frreview channels only and the DVD player worked fine.
The flat has a good supply of factual lake district books and film DVDs.
The small patio outside the patio doors is south facing but a very limited space with no bench.
All kitchen equipment worked effectively.
We enjoyed our stay despite the rain and made the most of the area. The owners were helpful and responded promptly to any enquiry.
The very steep roads around the studio are very narrow and of course fully and carefully exploited by residents and their visitors.
A nice flat all in all with some character.
Good value for money considering prices in the lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Cottage - sorry I couldn't arrange better weather for you! Although there is not a bench in the small garden area there are two outdoor chairs in the bathroom cupboard for guests to use when the sun does shine. We are also working on plans for a new raised patio area outside the bedroom window which will definitely have a bench. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away treat for two”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent location for exploring the Lakes and a great base for walkers. A well equipped characterful cottage in a charming old building. In a quiet spot but within easy reach of all the amenities of Ambleside. This is our fifth stay at the cottage. It has everything we need and we will be back. It is also extremely useful to have own parking space.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the effort to provide a review of your stay in Dwarf Hall Cottage. I am so pleased that you had another great week in the Cottage and that you are planning on returning. You will be made very welcome! Best wishes, Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warn1
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Dwarf cottage is bigger than you would expect, a big lounge/bedroom, good size kitchen and dinning area, lovely to have a bath to have a soak in.
Best of all you are only 2 mins walk away from the high street. Ambleside is big enough to explore but not over powering.
The cottage had plenty of local information and some great walks.
We had a great week up there, and did not use the car once.
Thanks for the wine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buryambyt...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very pleased to have booked this rental, it was much bigger than we expected and more a generous one bed flat, separate kitchen/dining area and bathroom and a large bed sitting room, all well equipped and comfortable. The flat is two minutes walk from pubs, restaurants and shops but just up the hill enough to be quiet and private.Parking space is a real boon in the area as the streets are narrow and lots of people parking on them. Easy to find with the directions given, and beautiful walks from the doorstep and of course the lake and ferries close by also, (there's a little shuttle bus will take you the mile to the lake from outside the White Lion Hotel).
There was lots of information about the lakes too hand in the kitchen, and although we did not meet Gill she has thought of everything you might need (Thank you for the bottle of fizz)
Only possible negative was the Wi-Fi which I did have some trouble with but this could well be me. Lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience to the village
Liked least: Chairs for the garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$659
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing