We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ann Tysons House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Grassings Country House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brantfell House(Ambleside)
US$140
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$130
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,841)
Filter reviews
1,841 results
Traveller rating
1,453
313
58
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
313
58
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beanslow wooddog bedlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomfillet steaksister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,841 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Just returned from a two night midweek stay. Where to start? The service was great; lovely staff and lovely location. A room with a view over Lake Windermere and with a balcony. Complimentary refreshments( including a nice gin),
The menu for dinner and breakfast was varied and the food was excellent. A lovely atmosphere in the restaurant with a varied and pleasantly-mannered clientele. (I have to say it was so pleasant to see such a diversity of age and cultural backgrounds)
I have tried to think of a criticism and could think of nothing worth mentioning. We look forward to visting again.

Room Tip: Have the same room we had (but not telling you what it was!)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Joseph G
Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

We had the weekend walking and loved every minute of it, it is a little bit further out of Ambleside centre to walk, but only just over a mile. It was a very nice room, if not a bit plain and lacking in character, the food was expensive but phenomenal, and the staff were great. All in all a very pleasant stay x

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Anna H
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Waterhead
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We have stayed at the Waterhead hotel several times now, it's become an old time favourite. Mainly because of it's fabulous location, at the head of lake Windermere, the food and the overall comfort of the rooms and service. Had a 2 night stay last week, thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing & comfortable stay. Dined both nights in the hotel restaurant Bar & Grill as the food is excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 36. Side view of the lake was obliterated by trees unfortunately. Room 39 has a better view.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Angie367
Many thanks for the review of your most recent stay and some great photos!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My husband brought me to The Waterhead for one night as a birthday surprise and we had fabulous relaxing stay. We stayed in room 2 which is a lovely big room with a lake view, the bed was huge, separate sitting area, lovely bathroom and lots of extras including Gin & Tonic! Morton brown toiletries, nespresso machine, fluffy robes and slippers. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and our meal was beautiful, good selection of all courses and excellent service. Breakfast again was super with a good cooked selection or cereals, pastries, cold meats, fruit etc. We would defiantly recommend The Waterhead and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW3DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear BMW3DS
Thank you for posting a review of your surprise birthday treat.
I was pleased to read that this was enjoyable and we hopet o welcome you back to The Waterhead very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This is a wonderful hotel. The position is fabulous, the room was very clean and spacious.The food was perfect, as was the service. I could not fault it, as a lot of thought had gone into making it so friendly and accommodating. Lots to do in the area.
We will return. Thanks to Adrian who made us feel like old friends.

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent with a lot of room and nice high ceilings
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank agilebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear agilebug
Thank you for posting a great review of your stay at The Waterhead.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews