We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$175
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ann Tysons House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rysdale(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,837)
Filter reviews
1,837 results
Traveller rating
1,451
311
58
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,451
311
58
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beanslow wooddog bedlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomfillet steaksister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,837 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We arrived on a Monday and I had clumsily booked the hotel for a Tuesday! There was no issue at all. The woman at reception was very helpful and changed the booking no problem. She even made sure we got a larger room as we were with our dog. The room was very spacious (two single beds but just pushed them together so not an issue) very clean and nice bathroom. Very near the stairs to the car park so easy to get all the bags and dog stuff up to the room. Location of the hotel is ideal, right on the lake and near the pier. As it was a Monday wasn't busy either which is ideal for us. Booked dinner for the evening and on arrival our table was all set and we had the dog with us as well. Staff again very polite and helpful and food was seriously good! We asked about breakfast in the morning and were told table would be ready for us in the morning and sure enough the same table was waiting for us ready when we got downstairs in the morning. Again very nice breakfast. Definitely will be coming back and hoping for a similar experience!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MartinDonna15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear MartinDonna15
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Waterhead.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Excellent from start to finish

We did a little research before booking the Waterhead at Ambleside for our short break. We needed something not too basic, not too big, within walking distance of the centre, handy for the boats and importantly, happy to take our two dogs.

We could not have chosen better, particularly when it came to the dogs. Whilst we have stayed before at hotels which tolerated dogs (with stipulations such as ‘not left alone in the room’, ‘not welcome in the restaurant, bar or public areas’, ‘only one dog permitted’ etc.) we have rarely come across a hotel which positively welcomed dogs. Each dog got a bed, treats, a towel and feeding/water bowls for two. They were welcome in the bar where we could eat our meals with them, in reception and in the garden. They were even allowed to stay in the room when we went out one evening and the hotel respected the ‘Do not Disturb’ notice.
The dogs even got their own welcome letter (attached).
There is a small fee but it a small price compared with kennels or home boarding.

Of course, not all dogs like other dogs so perhaps you do need to bear that in mind if yours is antisocial!

However, the hotel is not just for dogs.

For us we got comfortable twin beds in a fairly spacious room which was immaculately appointed. We could even see Windermere and Langdale. All the usual facilities such as Smart-TV, wi-fi (which worked!), DVD, hairdryer and tea, coffee, milk and even Grasmere Gingerbread which was replenished. We could have used the spa at a sister hotel down the road but that didn’t figure on this visit.

All of the staff seemed pleasant and nothing seemed too much trouble, anything we asked for was acted upon immediately and cheerfully.

We ate in the restaurant. Dinner (Swordfish and Chicken) were very good, reasonably priced and breakfast first rate in quality and choice. There are snacks and other food during the day but we were busy elsewhere.

The hotel is right next to the landing pier for the cruise boats and about 15 minutes’ walk from the centre of Ambleside. There are plenty of buses and a shuttle if that sounds too far. Car parking is adequate.

I am sure there are cheaper places to be found but we would not go past The Waterhead for our next break in The Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear iamain16
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Waterhead - great to read that this proved to be so enjoyable and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Mat Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Although not staying at the Waterhead we chose to dine here on four occasions. We were not disappointed.
The lunch menu is terrific, the pizza oven was on and the results couldn’t be faulted, equally the bar menu was a treat.

We had dinner twice, on both occasions the service was second to none, the fillet steak is to be highly recommended, as is the salmon.

A big thank you to Dan who made us feel most welcome at every visit.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 62maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear 62maxine
Thank you for such a great review!
I will of course share your kind comments with the team (and Dan in particular) and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We booked a room (without a lake view - only because we didn't intend to stay sat in the room looking at the lake) and finished up with one overlooking the car park. Not an issue - because we didn't intend to sit in the room looking at the car park either.
The room, a twin, was a very good size, well laid out, clean, with all the normal appliances, hairdryer, kettle etc but there were extras - a full ice-bucket on arrival, a cafetiere (complete with the coffee granules), enough soap and shampoos to last a week... and more. A soft and a hard pillow.. To sum it up - the room was excellent.
We ate in the restaurant - for which we had to book and I can understand why.
Dinner comprised a starter for me followed by a Fillet steak for my wife and Rib eye for me. They were perfectly cooked and the choice of sides is superb. We finished it off with a cheese board between the two of us. The steaks are not cheap - but you do get what you pay for and I don't believe I have eaten a better steak this year - and I have eaten quite a few already.
If you don't want to eat in the Restaurant then Ambleside is only a 20 min walk away or 4 mins in a car.
Breakfast was again a delight. A full English Breakfast or part of it was available together with several other hot dishes for you to consider. The usual cereals, fruit, joghurt etc were all available.
After breakfast we left having retreived my car for their small private car park.
The staff are ALL courteous and efficient and my wife and I left already intending to return later in the year.
The Hotel is a pleasure to stay at. It was very enjoyable and the staff can be proud of what they are acheiving there.

Room Tip: Best Views look over the lake but a car park view to me is not an issue
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maverick_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Maverick_in_UK
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and I am pleased that this proved to be so enjoyable.
I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We had a very short stay in this hotel but we enjoyed every minute of it. Lovely rooms, everything spic and span. We asked for a high quiet room and that is exactly what we were given. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff. We enjoyed a super evening meal, I had the corn-fed chicken breast and my husband ordered the rib eye steak. The only tiny criticism is the blue cheese sauce ordered with the steak meal was very strange, it was just like clarified butter with no "cheesy" taste, needless to say my husband couldn't eat it but the rest of his meal was excellent. We would definitely return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Janine J
Thanks for such a great review (I'll look into your comments relating to the sauce which is most unusual).
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Waterhead very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews