We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Ambleside)
US$182
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nanny Brow(Ambleside)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amboseli Lodge(Ambleside)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easedale Lodge(Ambleside)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy Guest House(Hawkshead)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
958
354
68
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
958
354
68
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Nice Bistro with a menu to suit everyone. Snack or large dinner it's great. Recommend the Kirkland Pie. It's so good it doesn't need the accompanying veggies. Paired with a nice g&t makes for a pleasant evening.
Only downside - parking is tight

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for posting your review and for your kind comments about our Bistro and the meals I'm glad you enjoyed the Kirkstone Bake and of course a good G&T! Hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Had a really good stay here last month for 2 nights on the way to Scotland. The Hotel is right in the middle of Ambleside although about 1mile from the lake. Service was great, room was excellent, wifi was very fast and breakfast was superb. Only downside is that parking is poorly laid out and there are not enough spaces so get there early!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrisD2633JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for posting your review, we are lucky to have such a central location. So pleased you had a really good stay with us en route to bonny Scotland. Apologies you had difficulty parking there is one space for each of our 54 rooms and myself and the team are always on hand to facilitate extra spaces. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Second visit here and not disappointed. Room was excellent and no complaints with breakfast, as much as you can eat which is always dangerous, will certainly be visiting again. Did not try the spa or pool but these are complentary to guests

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for posting your review glad you enjoyed your second stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I stopped here for lunch with a bus tour. The tour guide had 'phoned ahead to book meals and although my order wasn't presented until about 2 hours before we all sat down all I asked for arrived.
The whole experience was great.
Great service, great food and nothing too much trouble. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I only ate here.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback - so pleased you enjoyed your lunch stop with us and that you had such a great experience with us. I'm really pleased we were able to look after you all and thanks for the recommendation I hope you will passing again soon and we are able to look after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We have just returned home from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We booked a double club room with balcony (110) & it was perfect for us. The view was to the side of the hotel but we enjoyed the privacy as well as the peace & quiet! Check in was pleasant & straight forward. We were told about the spa facilities & breakfast info that was included.
The room was beautifully decorated & spotless. We had bathrobes & slippers to use during our stay. Very handy when using the jacuzzi bath & power shower that we had. The huge bed & bedding was very comfortable. The room safe, coffee machine & mini fridge also a bonus. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice & that catered for all tastes. The cooked breakfast was made to order & simply delicious also. We ate at the hotel on our first night (chicken dinner & burger, onion rings) and enjoyed it so much we did the same on our final night. The restaurant staff were efficient, pleasant & very professional (Rupert, John, Sam, Georgiana, Powel & Hamdia). Also the room cleaning staff were very helpful & polite. I must add that all staff were very tidy & well presented which was lovely to see. They obviously take personal pride in themselves. During our stay we did 2 cruises on Windermere, visited Bowness (Beatrix Potter), Wray Castle and mooched about Ambleside a lot. The location is perfect and we loved it that much we booked the same week next year as there's still loads more to do locally.

Room Tip: A variety depending on what you're looking for.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, Front Office Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review - 'Perfect Getaway' what a great compliment. Your feedback about the facilities, food, and your room - glad you liked 110 the balcony is a relatively new addition so I'm please you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Your comments about the team are really appreciated we are so lucky to have such a great bunch working here and they will all be chuffed they get a mention. WE look forward to welcoming you back for your holiday next year and yes there is plenty to do here in the Lakes to fill another week - we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews