We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
688
43
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
43
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarts and craftswhitwell suitehome made cakesskelwith roomlake districtantique furniturebeautiful housefabulous viewsoriginal featureshomemade jamswarm welcomesmoked salmonlarge bathroomlangdale valleyhigh standardbreakfast was deliciouslovely place
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Nanny Brow on our honeymoon 26 years ago, and went back again this year. It was perfect 26 years ago, and even better today. This is a truly lovely place set on 6 acres of beautiful grounds. There are great walks from the property, leading to little villages and tea houses. A lot of time was put into the book of restaurants and walks (very detailed, thankfully!), and Susan, our host, was very accommodating, and friendly, as were the members of the staff. The rooms are elegantly appointed, extremely tasteful, and unique. The attention to detail is outstanding, and there has been a huge effort to maintain the original charm and elegance of this early 20th century estate. The Nanny Brow is a treasure, and we will definitely return. Thank you to everyone!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and have lovely views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank janandpeter2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.We are delighted you enjoyed your 26th Wedding anniversary here and felt it was even better than when you stayed for your honeymoon. What a compliment.
As you gathered it has been a restoration of love transforming Nanny Brow back into the landmark Arts and Crafts property she is today and your review gave us such a buzz as we love it when others get what this magical house is all about.

Thank you again for all the lovely things you said about us all and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Nanny Brow is a beautiful and warm house, very well appointed with all the details we wished. We enjoyed the walks from the back door and others near to hand. Sue and the staff are very friendly and the breakfast good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Graham,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you both enjoyed yourselves and especially enjoyed the walks from our back gate up onto the fells. The staff we thrilled to receive a mention in your review as well.

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Please remember that the best deals are always to be found by booking directly with us. Check out our website or call us directly.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Spent two nights in April, from the moment we arrived felt very welcome. We stayed in the Loweswater Suite which was very well appointed and comfortable with a great view from our private balcony. Lots of nice features, quiet - really cannot fault. Homemade cakes in the room each evening, good breakfasts and perfect service. Will happily return & recommend.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the Loweswater Suite
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review about your stay with us. It was delightful meeting you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you are happy to recommend us and return your selves.

Please remember to tell your friends that the best deals are always to be found when booking directly with us.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I booked the Skelwith room at Nanny Brow for my boyfriend's birthday as we have never stayed in a luxury b&b before and I thought it would be a nice treat. Overall we had a nice stay and the staff were extremely helpful both via email and during our stay. However I personally do not feel that the experience was completely worth the cost and felt slightly disappointed overall because of this. Nanny Brow is a very nice bed and breakfast, very well situated with good views, clearly well trained staff committed to their role and a nice breakfast. However, I just feel that calling it a 'luxurious b and b' is not entirely appropriate.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Francesca,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your one night stay with us the other Sunday.We appreciate all the lovely things you had to say about us like being extremely helpful both via email and during your stay, how well train the team members are and committed to their role,the breakfast and that Nanny Brow is very well situated with good views.Plus the fact that we allowed you to check in during the morning 4 hours ahead of check in time. Consequently we were a little surprised at your over all score and that you felt that we were not a luxurious B&B I'm not sure what more you were after than a 5 star gold award winning establishment that is one of the counties finest examples of the Arts and Craft era and as such we are sorry you didn't get what we are all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful views, backyard access to the hills and river, near to Ambleside, great food and service. They have simple and clear information on walks. Super friendly dogs to greet you that you can play with and can take you round the compound and a cat to top it off.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you thought so highly of all the staff including the four legged ones.As you said its a great asset to us having direct access onto the fells at the back of us through our own private gate and I pleased you found our mapped our walks so useful.
Please bear in mind that the best deals are always to be found when you book directly with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews