We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothay Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Ambleside)
US$182
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nanny Brow(Ambleside)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$143
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amboseli Lodge(Ambleside)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easedale Lodge(Ambleside)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy Guest House(Hawkshead)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$100
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$155
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
449
145
46
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
145
46
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful afternoon teasconescoffee and petit foursloughrigg suitedrawing roomtasting menuamuse bouchesuperior roomoverlooking the gardennew ownerslake districtpublic roomsbreakfast and dinnerlamblovely hotelwalk in showerhome made
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Great hotel. Generous family room, super clean and well equipped. Very welcoming and attentive staff. Delicious food. A tie up with nearby hotel also meant we could use a pool and mini spa, which the kids loved. Ambleside has a good selection of shops but this hotel is just away from the busy area so it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We took my mother, 94, for a late summer break. The downstairs disabled bedroom was perfect with every detail considered.
Our bedroom with a balcony was first class with a comfortable sitting area and a large bathroom with separate bath and shower.
The lounge, bar and dining rooms were very well appointed.
Meals were first class. A high quality menu which changed daily.
Service was excellent.... not for those in a rush!
It is really hard to fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Room one. Great view and balcony and enormous bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We had a family gathering for 23 people ranging from 5 years old to 89.
We chose the afternoon tea option, and booked the Brathay Suite. We also booked three rooms for our visit.
From the start of the booking until the morning of our departure, the experience was a delight.
All guests, without exception, loved the Afternoon Tea, and the venue, most having travelled at least 60 miles.
We are already planning another gathering for next year.
It is a most beautiful location, and so easy to explore the surrounding area. We also had lovely weather, which at this time of year, made our visit just perfect.
Thank you Rothay Staff for making our event so successful.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skywalker_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Dreadful. Total waste of money. Some of the food was inedible. For the price we expected something a little more tasteful than a buffet...! I can't believe this 'afternoon tea' has made it onto anyone's recommendations list. The only good thing I can say is the staff member who looked after us though rushed off her feet was very very good.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank TheChatterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

A two day stay on dinner B&B terms in a superior room with balcony overlooking the gardens.
The room was large with a king size bed, two very comfortable chairs, ample storage space, tea making facilities and excellent soft furnishings. The bathroom had bath and separate shower with high quality towels and toiletries. All very satisfactory.
Unfortunately my first nights sleep was spoils by, what I would describe as poor quality pillows. However this was corrected the following day when I requested feather pillows.. They immediately appeared.
Customer service throughout the hotel was excellent. Well trained staff reacted promptly to any request, and were a credit to the establishment.
Breakfast consisted of a large selection of fruit, cereals, juices and an extensive list of freshly cooked hot selections. The porridge was exceptionally creamy - more like creme brûlée.
The dinner menu was extensive. It would be difficult not to find something that excited the tastebuds. We noticed we felt slightly rushed with the service on the first night, but a request to hold back was respected on the second evening.
A good and reasonably priced wine list provided appropriate liquid accompanyment.
Public rooms were comfortably furnished with traditional furniture. Perhaps the floor covering needs attention.
Overall, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: The balcony provided sufficient space to enjoy drinks while enjoying the super views of the fells.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SethsGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews