We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ann Tysons House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$175
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rysdale(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
237
98
28
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
98
28
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastjacuzzi bathcar parkwill stay there againcold meatsfour posterthe ground floorposter bedfamily roomample parkingsized roomfull englisha couple of minutes walktown centredvd playerlovely towncentral location
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We arrived a little early to check in but that was not a problem we were shown to are room which had a good sized bed and was so fresh and clean, the bathroom was very good with a spa bath and a shower over the top.Breakfast was continental which was very good with fresh and dried fruit meat cheese and lots more.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for reviewing Brathay Lodge and for giving us top marks for your stay. Were pleased you enjoyed the facilities and very popular continental buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lakes in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights and found our room comfortable although it was a trek to the top floor and I'm thinking less able guests might find that room a bit too much of a climb.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the property is well located just a few minutes walk one way to the shops and restaurants and a ten minute walk or so the other way to the wharf where the Lake Windemere boats depart.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Slight-Fade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you kindly for the great review were glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Regarding room locations we have 8 on the top two floors and 12 on the first and ground floors so we are generally able to cater for most requirements. Were pleased you enjoyed the location and convenience to shops, restaurants etc. We thank you for the kind words towards the staff we appreciate very much. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We received a lovely welcome from the staff on arrival and they were very helpful taking us to our room. The hotel was very clean throughout. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. If I could give a 10 for cleanliness I would. Unfortunately our room was on the top floor and there was no lift, but it was worth the 5 flights of stairs as the room and views were beautiful. I did book late so we had to have what was left. Next time I will book earlier to choose a lower floor room. But that is my own personal choice.
There was absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel, everything was perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be of the same high quality, however less able people may struggle with the stairs in the very top rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for the excellent feedback and for giving us top marks for your stay. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Had an excellent stay here. It was clean, warm and had good showers and wi-fi. The breakfast was a particular highlight - wide range of fresh ripe fruit and yogurt amongst other things. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bouncealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for giving us top marks. Were pleased the cleanliness and shower was to your liking along with our very popular continental buffet breakfast. We have recently upgraded our Wi-Fi system in the bedrooms and that you made good use off. Thank you also for the kind words towards the staff. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Clean but dated. Very overpriced for the quality provided. We only had toiletries for one guest. No cleaning materials for the bath tub, so one person had to shower.
No telephone in the room.
The room was more like an American motel room overlooking the car park so felt quite vulnerable.
Guests in room above very noisy, came in late and got up early.
The breakfast was 'Continental' although according to the menu in the room a cooked breakfast could be available, however, when you were actually in the dining room you weren't asked if you wanted anything cooked.
Staff nice and polite.
I wouldn't stay there again at the price of £128 per night, given the quality, which was basic at best!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Reception Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Brathay Lodge it was nice to meet you both. Regarding your feedback on the newly refurbished ground floor room it was disappointing that you felt the room was dated which we understand everyone has their own opinions on colour schemes etc however were pleased you found the room warm, comfortable and clean as mentioned to me when i checked you in. After your friend used the shower you mentioned to me what do i clean the bath with, it is not common practice to clean in between hands. Rooms are serviced daily but never between showers, baths etc, maybe individual rooms may have been more appropriate? As a guest house we've never been required to provide a telephone this is something found more common in hotels, we have provided a main line in the past for guests if required. Regarding a cooked breakfast it has never been advertised that we provide and is why i didn't offer during service we continue to offer our very successful continental buffet breakfast. The tariff for the Saturday night only during a peak weekend represents parity with similar establishments. I thank you for the kind words towards both myself and the team and hope that you will accompany your friend on a future visit to the Lake District. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews